电动汽车电池和储能

什么是储能和电池,为什么它很重要?

储能和电池是电网中的关键组成部分。电池储能系统(BESS)使生产商能够从不一致的发电源(如太阳能和风能)收集能量,并以更一致的速率或高需求为网络供电。储能还使用户能够以较低的成本收集能量,通常以较低的需求收集能量,并在需要时使用能量。这可能是在能源分配网络中,在需要时平衡电网,大型能源消耗站点,如零售商店,公司和家庭的应急电源,或移动能源消耗,如电动汽车(EV)电池。

电动汽车、电气化电器、物联网以及大量数据收集和处理的功耗增加,使得为这些系统提供一致且可靠的能源至关重要。

为什么选择博德的电池解决方案?

我们轻巧、高性能的密封和冷却解决方案可帮助您设计具有更高功率密度的大型电池。

我们对电池进行加固改造,以承受恶劣的环境和道路条件,用于储能和电动汽车电池,并延长使用寿命和续航里程。

Boyd高效、可靠和可持续的液体冷却系统有助于优化电源逆变器和转换器性能,以最大限度地提高能量转换效率、能源使用以及储能系统和电动汽车电池之间的配电。

我们快速的设计周期和快速的原型设计可帮助您快速迭代设计,在加快上市速度方面创造竞争优势,并使您能够更快地推出新产品,以便更早地进入市场。

我们为简化客户装配、制造设计 (DFM) 吞吐量和材料优化设计解决方案。

我们通过结合来自不同供应商的材料的制造能力为您提供更大的设计灵活性,从而创建优化的多层材料配置。

简化的多功能解决方案,密封、冷却和保护集成系统设计,有助于减轻重量,创造额外的设计空间,并最大限度地提高能源创造、效率和存储容量。

电池组速度较慢的 gif

电动汽车电池解决方案

查看我们的 3D 交互式工具,探索 Boyd 的电动汽车电池解决方案以及我们如何推动多方面的创新。单击下面的图片或按钮,让自己沉浸在我们的电动汽车电池解决方案中!

电动汽车电池和储能资源

电动汽车电池组的Boyd差异

我们了解安全性和可靠性。我们也是最大限度地提高应用中的功率密度、能量利用率、回收率和效率的专家。60 多年来,我们已证明可靠性和安全性是我们为运输、航空航天和国防市场提供设计和制造支持的重中之重,推动创新,使我们的技术更轻、更紧凑。我们将这一传统与我们在先进行业经验的创新制造工艺、材料和技术相结合,以安全高效地增强电动汽车电池组组件设计和技术。

Boyd的电池遗产

  • 1 百万 + EV电池密封件安装在当今领先的电动汽车中。
  • 2 百万 + 电动交通电池组件安装。
  • 首批引入门装式冷水机组液体冷却系统以集成到电池存储应用中的冷却系统之一。
  • 超过60年的现场验证性能和超过1亿台设备在运输,航空航天和国防应用中的出货量,在安全性是关键问题的市场中具有值得信赖的可靠性。
  • 30 billion + field hours with zero leaks in liquid cooling systems to reliably maximize battery thermal performance.
  • 500K+液冷板安装在现场,零泄漏,用于与电池模块的安全直接液体冷却接口,从而提高功率密度。

加固电池以承受环境暴露和消费者使用

储能应用和电动汽车电池可在世界上一些最苛刻和最极端的环境中运行。为了以最高效率延长安全可靠的电池性能,设计必须经过战略性的加固,以防止极端高温、寒冷、紫外线照射、风、沙、雨、道路振动和突然撞击。

为电池组和模块提供足够的密封,可以保护电池及其电池免受液体、气体、颗粒和污染物的侵入或暴露,从而防止灾难性故障并延长电池寿命。

    突然冲击电池保护和压缩垫

    需要保护电池免受机械运动、温度循环、声音、风或其他环境因素可能产生的突然冲击、振动和膨胀力的影响。电动汽车电池会经历额外的极端环境,包括恶劣的路况以及事故和险些失误造成的碰撞影响。

    Boyd的压缩垫在电池单元之间分层,以补偿膨胀力,管理电池公差堆栈的电池膨胀和收缩,并充当碰撞和振动引起的机械运动的冲击保护屏障。坚固耐用的冲击吸收电池密封件可帮助您最大限度地减少对电池的不利影响,减少维护需求和消费者保修成本,同时提高电池安全性。

    电池冷却并隔离电池火灾风险,以最大限度地提高效率和安全性

    电池是电动汽车或储能装置中最不可或缺的一部分,充电循环、存储容量和续航里程是采用的主要关注点。热密度限制通常是该领域创新的关键因素。博伊德的液体冷却系统和 冷板 实现更小、更轻的电池热系统;为更强大的电池创造更多的设计空间,具有更快的充电周期和更有效的能量利用。电动汽车特别受益于更可靠且每次充电具有更大续航里程的电动汽车电池。

    电池防火和保护

    现代电池设计经过优化,可防止火灾发生。但在极少数情况下发生灾难性电池火灾故障时,主动安全设计集成了高性能和可靠的防火隔离功能。火灾隔离可以通过许多不同的方式在不同的电池系统级别实现,以实现一次和次要火灾隔离性能。电池单元和模块可以用电隔离高性能薄膜包裹。这些轻巧、坚固的绝缘层包裹电池单元,以防止内部关键组件之间的零件电压导致器件短路或起火。使用最高阻燃等级的FR V0隔离膜有助于防止火灾发生,或者在电池燃烧不太可能的情况下将其隔离在原电池电位。

    SOLIMIDE®电池绝缘和保护

    SOLIMIDE® 是一种耐火、超轻、无毒的泡沫,在极端高温和低温下都能保持最佳性能。它具有出色的阻燃性,在许多关键应用中用作阻燃剂。SOLIMIDE®在连续长期直接暴露于火焰下不会点燃或燃烧,零毒素和很少的烟雾。它具有传统的泡沫性能特征,如可压缩性和减振性。它还具有高水解稳定性的无芯吸性,这意味着它不会保留水或水重量,并且可以承受长时间暴露在液体中。当应用于电池组时,它在电池组级别充当二级防火保护,隔离火焰和火灾,同时吸收机械振动和声学,以获得更安全、更安静、更可靠的电池。

    防止锂离子电池热失控

    锂离子电池的良好温度管理具有额外的备用安全功能,有助于防止电池热失控事件,或在发生时安全快速地做出反应。防止热失控始于优化设计,但也需要防止热失控传播的组件。专为电池对电池应用而设计的多功能、复杂电池组件解决方案可吸收冲击、振动和运动,散发电池热量,并在发生灾难性事件时充当火焰或隔热层和隔离器。通过管理振动、运动和摩擦,使您的设计能够主动安全地防止热失控事件,并在电池安全设计功能无法防止电池间传播的情况下快速隔离极端高温或火灾。高度集成的热失控预防组件具有冷却翅片或散热器,带有压缩垫和阻燃电绝缘,以隔离锂离子电池。防止、保护和隔离电池存储热失控和电动汽车电池热失控。

    电池

    热失控的三大原因以及如何预防它们

    (查看文字记录)

    如何冷却和保护电动汽车电池免受碰撞和热失控

    (查看文字记录)

    全球网络和本地支持

    Boyd在三大洲拥有40 + ISO 9001和9个IATF 16949认证的制造业务,以确保我们的储能和电动汽车组件在熟练的区域支持下超越对质量管理体系的严格要求。Boyd以客户为中心和关系管理文化与最苛刻的质量管理体系流程保持一致。通过优化流程、组织和效率,我们通过有效的管理和装配流程降低成本、提高良率,同时为客户提供最优质的产品。

    解决未来的可持续发展法规

    Boyd在全球可用的区域ISO 14001认证制造业务以及与eMobility,电动汽车,混合动力电动汽车,自主性和储能创新者的长期合作伙伴关系,影响着我们如何超越严格的安全和区域环境要求,预测不断变化的消费者需求,并解决未来的可持续发展法规。

    值得信赖的电动汽车创新 |电动汽车电池冷却和热失控解决方案

    (查看文字记录)

    电动交通解决方案 |电动汽车热失控保护 |电动汽车人机界面和电池冷却技术

    (查看文字记录)

    电动汽车电池和储能的优势:

    收集能量,为电动汽车快速充电。

    在较低的需求时间购买能源,以获得更好的价格。

    存储能量以供紧急消耗,特别是对于医院和数据中心等关键位置和系统。

    提高风电场或太阳能发电场等可持续能源发电的可靠性。

    平衡电网生产和需求,特别是在高峰运行期间。

    电动汽车电池和储能挑战:

    配套设备和保护材料减少了电芯的可用体积,降低了能量密度。

    温度限制了快速充电和放电循环,需要冷却解决方案来保持速度。

    可再生的现场储能系统位于太阳能或风力发电场,这些发电场可能位于偏远地区。这可能会限制系统维护,并需要高度可靠的系统才能持续使用。

    电动汽车电池必须满足乘客安全的严格安全标准,其中包括碰撞保护和防火材料,以增加紧急情况下的出口时间。

    每一克都有助于延长电动汽车电池续航里程,因此保护和冷却系统必须使用轻巧但可靠的解决方案。

    利用 Boyd 15 多年的电池专业知识来增强您的产品。

    要了解的关键电池和能量术语

    术语定义
    密封件和垫圈密封电池组、电池模块和电池盖,防止温度冲击、空气、灰尘和水进入。优化性能、防水和密封,同时考虑压缩永久变形和力挠度、NVH 和其他机械因素。
    透气膜和密封件控制内部电池组件或电池组压力、湿度和其他环境因素。
    EMI屏蔽通过阻挡不需要的外部电磁波,降低电池组和模块中的电子故障敏感性。
    多层热失控保护高温、防火泡沫和薄膜,用于屏蔽、阻挡和抑制电池单元和模块之间的火焰。
    压缩和公差垫管理电池单元公差堆栈和温度循环的膨胀和收缩。
    电气绝缘和电池包装绝缘层包裹电池单元和模块,以防止内部关键组件之间的火花电压可能导致设备短路或火灾。
    母线用介电粘合剂保护电池组件中的柔性印刷电路,以延长器件寿命。
    电池液冷板超轻质液态铝冷板为当今性能最高的电池模块和电池组提供强大的结构支撑(RSS)。液体冷却系统和电池组之间的直接液体冷却接口。
    热界面材料 (TIM)促进冷却板和电池模块之间的热传递,将热量从敏感组件中移走。TIM 有助于最大限度地减少流入、流经和流出界面的热流阻力。
    细胞间键合压敏胶将袋子和棱柱形电池粘合在一起,以增强电池组组件的结构完整性。
    门装式冷水机组通门安装式冷水机组,可在更恶劣的大气条件下提供液体冷却。

    关闭

    1 百万 + EV电池密封件安装在当今领先的电动汽车中。

    2 百万 + 电动交通电池组件安装。

    首批引入门装式冷水机组液体冷却系统以集成到电池存储应用中的冷却系统之一。

    超过60年的现场验证性能和超过1亿台设备在运输,航空航天和国防应用中的出货量,在安全性是关键问题的市场中具有值得信赖的可靠性。

    30 billion + field hours with zero leaks in liquid cooling systems to reliably maximize battery thermal performance.

    500K+液冷板安装在现场,零泄漏,用于与电池模块的安全直接液体冷却接口,从而提高电池功率密度。

    有疑问?我们随时可以提供帮助!

EV Batteries and Energy Storage

What is Energy Storage and Batteries and Why Does it Matter?

Energy storage and batteries are critical components in the electrical grid. Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESSs) enable producers to collect energy from inconsistent power generation sources like solar and wind and feed the network at a more consistent rate or at high demands. Energy Storage also enables users to collect energy, usually at low demand for lower costs, and use the energy when they need it. This could be at energy distribution networks, balancing the grid when needed, large energy consumption sites like retail stores, an emergency power source for companies and homes, or mobile energy consumption like electric vehicle (EV) batteries.

Increased power consumption in EVs, electrified appliances, the internet of things, and massive data collection and processing, makes providing a consistent and reliable energy source for these systems paramount.

Why Boyd for Battery Solutions?

Advanced-Materials-Available

Our lightweight, high performance sealing and cooling solutions help you design larger batteries with greater power density.

Tailored-Look-and-Feel

We ruggedize batteries to withstand harsh environmental and road conditions for energy storage and EV batteries with extended life and range.

Material-Science-Breadth

Boyd’s highly efficient, reliable, and sustainable liquid cooling systems help optimize power inverter and converter performance to maximize energy conversion efficiency, energy use, and power distribution to and from energy storage systems and EV batteries.

Design-Flexibility

Our quick design cycles and fast prototyping help you rapidly iterate designs, creating a competitive advantage in speed to market and enabling you to introduce new products faster for earlier market access.

Enhance-Functionality-and-Performance

 We design solutions for simplified customer assembly, design for manufacturing (DFM) throughput, and material optimization.

Global-FDA

We give you greater design flexibility with manufacturing capabilities that combine materials from a variety of vendors, creating optimized multilayer material configurations.

Streamlined, multi-functional solutions that seal, cool, insulate, and protect integrate system design to help reduce weight, create additional design space, and maximize energy creation, efficiency, and storage capacity.

battery pack slower gif

EV Battery Solutions

View our 3D interactive tool to explore Boyd’s EV battery solutions and how we drive multifaceted innovation. Click the image or the button below to immerse yourself with our EV battery solutions!

EV Batteries and Energy Storage Resources

The-Boyd-Difference-for-Batteries

The Boyd Difference for an EV Battery Pack

We know safety and reliability. We’re also experts at maximizing power density, energy utilization, recovery, and efficiency in applications. We’ve proven reliability and safety are at the forefront of our design and manufacturing support for transportation, aerospace, and defense markets for over 60 years, driving innovation to make our technologies lighter and more compact. And we’re blending this heritage with innovative manufacturing processes, materials, and technologies from our experience in advanced industries to enhance EV battery pack component design and technology safely and efficiently.

Boyd’s Battery Heritage

  • 1 million + EV battery seals installed in today’s leading electric vehicles.
  • 2 million + eMobility battery component installations.
  • One of the first to introduce door-mounted chiller liquid cooling systems to integrate into storage applications for batteries.
  • More than 60 years of field-proven performance and over 1 billion units shipped in transportation, aerospace, and defense applications for trusted reliability in markets where safety is a key concern.
  • 30 billion + field hours with zero leaks in liquid cooling systems to reliably maximize battery thermal performance.
  • 500K+ liquid cold plates installed in the field with zero leaks for safe direct liquid cooling interface to battery modules that boosts power density.
Ruggedize-Batteries-to-Withstand-Environmental-Exposure-and-Consumer-Use

Ruggedize Batteries to Withstand Environmental Exposure and Consumer Use

Energy storage applications and electric vehicle batteries operate in some of the world’s most demanding and extreme environments. To prolong safe and reliable battery performance at maximum efficiency, designs must be strategically ruggedized to protect against extreme heat, cold, UV exposure, wind, sand, rain, road vibration, and sudden impact.

Having an adequate seal for packs and modules protects the battery and its cells against liquid, gas, particle, and contaminant intrusion or exposure to prevent catastrophic failures and prolong battery life.

    Sudden Impact Battery Protection and Compression Pads

    Batteries need to be protected against sudden impact, vibration, and swelling forces that can come from mechanical movement, temperature cycling, sound, wind, or other environmental factors. Electric vehicle batteries experience additional extreme environments from harsh road conditions and collision impact from accidents and near-misses.

    Boyd’s compression pads layer between battery cells to compensate for swelling forces, manage cell expansion and contraction of cell tolerance stack, and act as an impact protection barrier from mechanical movement resulting from collisions and vibration. Ruggedized impact-absorbing battery seals help you minimize the detrimental impact to batteries and reduce maintenance demand and consumer warranty costs while enhancing battery safety.

    Sudden-Impact-Battery-Protection-and-Compression-Pads
    Battery Cooling and Isolate Battery Fire Risk to Maximize Efficiency and Safety 566x419 1

    Battery Cooling and Isolate Battery Fire Risk to Maximize Efficiency and Safety

    Batteries are the most integral part of an electric vehicle or energy storage installation with charge cycling, storage capacity, and range being a primary concern to adoption. Thermal density limitations are often a key contributing factor to innovation in this space. Boyd’s liquid cooling systems and cold plates enable smaller, lighter battery thermal systems; creating more design space for more powerful batteries with faster charge cycles and more efficient utilization of energy. Electric vehicles specifically benefit from EV batteries that are more reliable and have greater driving range per charge.

    Battery Fire Isolation and Protection

    Modern battery design is optimized to prevent fire from ever occurring. But in the rare event of a catastrophic battery failure with fire, proactive safety design integrates high performance and reliable fire isolation. Fire isolation can be achieved many different ways and at different battery system levels for primary and secondary fire isolation performance. Battery cells and modules can be wrapped with electrically isolating high performance films. These lightweight, rugged insulation layers wrap battery cells to prevent spart voltage between internal critical components that can lead to device shorting or fire. Using the highest flame-rated FR V0 isolation films helps to prevent fire from occurring, or isolating it at the primary battery cell level in the unlikely event a cell combusts.

    Battery-Fire-Isolation-and-Protection
    SOLIMIDE-Battery-Protection

    SOLIMIDE® Battery Insulation and Protection

    SOLIMIDE® is a fire resistant, ultra-lightweight, non-toxic foam that can maintain peak performance at both high and low temperature extremes. It is exceptionally flame resistant and used as a flame barrier in many critical applications. SOLIMIDE® will not ignite or combust under continuous long term direct exposure to flame, emits zero toxins and very little smoke. It offers traditional foam performance characteristics like compressibility and vibration damping. It’s also non-wicking with high hydrolytic stability, meaning it won’t retain water or water weight and can withstand long exposure to liquids. When applied in a battery pack, it acts as secondary fire protection at the battery pack level, isolating flame and fire while absorbing both mechanical vibration and acoustics for safer, quieter, more reliable batteries.

    Preventing Li-ion Battery Thermal Runaway

    Good temperature management of lithium-ion battery cells with additional back up safety features help to prevent battery thermal runaway events or respond safely and swiftly if they occur. Thermal runaway prevention starts with optimized design but also requires components that protect against thermal runaway propagation. Multi-functional, complex battery component solutions designed for cell-to-cell application absorb impact, vibration and movement, dissipate cell heat, and act a flame or heat barrier and isolator if a catastrophic event were to occur. Enable your designs to proactively and safely prevent thermal runaway events by managing vibration, movement and friction, and quickly isolate extreme heat or fire in the unlikely event battery safety design features fail to prevent cell-to-cell propagation. Highly integrated thermal runaway prevention assemblies feature cooling fins or heat spreaders with compression pads and flame-rated electrical insulation to isolate li-ion battery cells. Prevent, protect, and isolate battery storage thermal runaway and EV battery thermal runaway.

    battery

    Top Three Causes of Thermal Runaway and How to Prevent Them

    View transcript

    Maximize BESS Performance with Boyd’s Sealing and Cooling Technologies

    (View transcript)

    Global-Network-and-Local-Support

    Global Network & Local Support

    Boyd maintains 40+ ISO 9001 and nine IATF 16949 certified manufacturing operations across three continents to assure our energy storage and eMobility components exceed the rigorous demands for quality management systems with adept regional support. Boyd’s customer focus and relationship management culture are aligned with the most demanding QMS system processes. By optimizing processes, organization, and efficiency, we reduce costs, increase yield rates with effective management and assembly processes, all while providing our customers the highest quality products.

    Solve Sustainability Regulations of the Future

    Boyd’s globally available, in-region ISO 14001 certified manufacturing operations and longstanding partnerships with eMobility, electric vehicle, hybrid electric vehicle, autonomy, and energy storage innovators influence how we exceed rigorous safety and regional environmental requirements, anticipate evolving consumer needs, and solve sustainability regulations of the future.

    Solve-Sustainability-Regulations-of-the-Future

    Trusted Innovation in eMobility | EV Battery Cooling and Thermal Runaway Solutions

    (View transcript)

    eMobility Solutions | EV Thermal Runaway Protection |EV HMI and Battery Cooling Technology

    (View transcript)

    Benefits of EV Batteries and Energy Storage:

    Collect energy for rapid battery charging for electric vehicles.

    Purchase energy at lower demand times for better pricing.

    Store energy for emergency consumption, especially for critical locations and systems like hospitals and data centers.

    Improves the reliability of power production of sustainable sources like wind farms or solar farms.

    Balance grid production and demand, especially during peak operating hours.

    EV Batteries and Energy Storage Challenges:

    Supporting equipment and protective materials reduce available volume for battery cells and reduces energy density.

    Temperature limits rapid charge and discharge cycles, requiring cooling solutions to maintain speed.

    Renewable on-site energy storage systems are located at the solar or wind farms, which can be in remote locations. This can limit system maintenance and requires highly reliable systems for ongoing usage.

    EV batteries must meet demanding safety standards for passenger safety, which includes collision protection and fire-resistant materials to increase egress time in emergencies.

    Every gram counts in extending EV battery range, so protection and cooling systems must use lightweight, yet reliable solutions.

    Leverage Boyd’s 15+ years of battery expertise to enhance your product.

    Key Battery and Energy Terms to Know

    EV-Battery-Diagram

    How to Cool and Protect EV Batteries Against Collision and Thermal Runaway

    (View transcript)

    TermDefinition
    Seals and GasketsSeal battery packs, battery modules, and battery covers against temperature impact, air, dust and water ingress. Optimize performance, waterproof and seal while considering compression set and force deflection, NVH and other mechanical factors.
    Venting Films and SealsControl internal battery assembly or pack pressure, moisture, and other environmental factors.
    EMI ShieldingReduce electronic malfunction susceptibility in battery packs and modules by blocking unwanted external electromagnetic waves.
    Multilayer Thermal Runaway ProtectionHigh temperature, fire resistant foams and films to shield, block and suppress flame between battery cells and modules.
    Compression and Tolerance PadsManage expansion and contraction of battery cell tolerance stack and temperature cycling.
    Electrical Insulation and Cell WrappingInsulation layers wrap battery cells and modules to prevent spark voltage between internal critical components that can lead to device shorting or fire.
    Dielectric Adhesives for BusbarsProtect flexible printed circuits in battery assemblies to extend device lifetimes.
    Battery Liquid Cold PlatesUltra lightweight liquid aluminum cold plates provide Robust Structural Support (RSS) for today’s highest performing battery modules and packs. Direct liquid cooling interface between the liquid cooling system and battery packs.
    Thermal Interface Materials (TIMs)Facilitate heat transfer between the cooling plate and battery module, moving heat away from sensitive components. TIM helps to minimize resistance of heat flow into, through and out of an interface.
    Cell-to-Cell BondingPressure Sensitive Adhesives bond pouch and prismatic cells together to enhance structural integrity in Battery pack assemblies.
    Door-Mount ChillersThrough-door mount chiller that provides liquid cooling in harsher atmospheric conditions.
    Battery-Closing

    Closing

    1 million + EV battery seals installed in today’s leading electric vehicles.

    2 million + eMobility battery component installations.

    One of the first to introduce door-mounted chiller liquid cooling systems to integrate into battery storage applications.

    More than 60 years of field-proven performance and over 1 billion units shipped in transportation, aerospace, and defense applications for trusted reliability in markets where safety is a key concern.

    30 billion + field hours with zero leaks in liquid cooling systems to reliably maximize battery thermal performance.

    500K+ liquid cold plates installed in the field with zero leaks for safe direct liquid cooling interface to battery modules that boosts battery power density.

    Have questions? We’re ready to help!