博伊德公司的材料科学

我们从基础材料科学专业知识和工程学开始,为客户开发更轻、更小、功能更强的组件。材料创新使我们能够在不增加重量或大量使用科学的情况下扩展峰值性能,以找到独特的方法,以更少的材料获得更多的性能。自 1928 年成立以来,我们不断创新材料科学,从早期的工业面料和聚合物发展到今天的尖端光学薄膜。我们推动博伊德材料科学产品组合的创新,并与我们的战略全球材料供应合作伙伴合作。我们倾听客户最复杂的挑战,创造性地接受科学,利用材料特性解决他们雄心勃勃的绩效目标。Boyd 对各种材料类型的材料属性、兼容性和行为的深入了解确保客户指定最优化的材料,以实现所需的性能、可持续性目标、区域可用性、完整的产品生命周期管理和总体最佳总拥有成本。

博伊德的材料科学专业知识使我们的客户能够:

图像

使用最先进的材料进行创新

Boyd 的材料科学传统与我们的全球材料供应商合作伙伴相结合,确保您充分利用项目中最新的材料创新。高级材料可帮助您突破现有设计的界限或重新定义您的市场。

图像

自信地设计

在了解 Boyd 为您的应用和项目要求推荐最合适的材料后,自信地开发产品。我们混合和匹配兼容材料,以设计和制造多功能组件,将更多功能包装到较小的空间。

图像

区分您的产品

Boyd 的材料科学专业知识可帮助您实现能够提高产品寿命、性能、功能和可持续性的材料,使您的品牌超越竞争对手。

什么是材料科学?

材料科学是对天然、合成或复合材料(包括金属和金属合金、橡胶和塑料、陶瓷等聚合物)的结构和化学性质的研究和研究。材料科学家和工程师利用这些知识改进现有材料或为新应用创造具有不同特性的新材料。精通材料科学的人也善于推荐哪些材料在某些应用或产品中最有效。

博伊德的材料科学专长是什么?

Boyd 的材料科学家利用他们的知识,设计出改进现有材料、创造性地组合材料或开发具有特定特性的新配方的方法,用于不同的应用和产品。凭借数十年的经验和获得最新材料创新的机会,我们的材料科学专家推荐最适合您的应用材料,并且从 1928 日起就开始这样做。

为什么要相信博伊德是你的材料科学合作伙伴?

Boyd Corporation 结合了近 100 年的内部材料专业知识、创新且经济高效的处理方法和良好的供应商关系,帮助您找到适合您应用的最佳材料。我们帮助您优化设计,同时处理和转换集成的多样化材料,打造出高效的多功能组件,创造性地提供最佳性能、组装简单性和总总成本。

特色材料:硅胶

Boyd 硅胶的专业知识跨越了 40 年,包括医疗技术、制药、电动汽车、食品生产、运输、建筑和航空航天的复合和制造硅胶组件。从硅胶管、挤出型材、O 环和床单到复杂的硅胶成型部件和组装产品,Boyd 的硅胶解决方案超过了苛刻的质量和安全要求。

薄膜

薄膜或薄片材料包括多种化学成分,包括塑料、橡胶和金属。较新的可回收和生物分解薄膜也越来越普及。薄膜通常采用滚动格式,允许精密转换器(如 Boyd)使用持续制造工艺,如先进的旋转模具切割,以便进行大批量生产。印刷胶片用于标记。薄膜与低粘合剂相结合用于表面保护。博伊德还利用高性能光学设计来制造先进的显示光导。

薄膜材料可以采用各种最适合您的应用和项目要求的方法进行精确转换,包括用于快速设计评估的快速原型设计。Boyd 的精密转换专业知识与我们的材料科学遗产相得益彰,使我们能够帮助您充分利用高产量率、优化材料利用率和复杂的单通旋转转换胶片材料,确保精确的薄膜层对齐。

胶粘剂

粘合剂是用于将表面连接在一起的材料。这些债券可能是永久债券或临时债券,具体取决于申请。粘合剂来自不同的化学成分,如丙烯酸、硅胶、橡胶、尿素和环氧树脂。新的生物基和生物分解材料也正在迅速发展,以获得更可持续的粘合剂产品。

博伊德的粘合剂专业知识广泛而深厚,跨越 70 多年。我们指导胶带制剂的经验使我们能够将材料层压在一起,形成复杂的多功能组件,提供各种材料的性能特性。磁带可以由胶片材料作为单面或双面胶带支撑,也可以不附带载体材料(称为传输磁带)。粘合剂也可以集成到泡沫材料中,也可以采取机械紧固件的形式,如钩和环织物,这也连接在一起的表面。

橡胶

橡胶是一种弹性聚合物物质,可以是天然的,也可以是合成的。如果不秃鹰化,它可以在变形后在限度内恢复原来的形状。硫化橡胶增加了强度。橡胶通常坚韧、韧性强,对环境和化学暴露具有抵抗力。除了传统认可的橡胶成分(如软管)外,它还被用作各种材料配方中的关键成分,包括海绵、泡沫、粘合剂和薄膜。

博伊德定制化合物、模具、挤出物和橡胶转换,以生产具有各种特性的弹性组件。我们的橡胶材料科学遗产可追溯到 70 多年。

泡棉

泡沫和海绵橡胶是可压缩、弹性强、重量轻的材料,有助于隔热、吸收冲击和冲击、潮湿的噪音和振动,以及密封间隙和接头。泡沫可以是闭合电池,更适合密封应用,或开放式电池,这通常更适合阻尼应用。两者都具有广泛的基础化学成分、密度、厚度和其他特性,有助于满足特定的产品需求。

Boyd 专有的泡沫配方 SOLIMIDE ® 泡沫是一种非常轻巧、温度范围广、耐火的泡沫,非常适合隔热和隔音。我们广泛利用泡沫材料科学专业知识,与泡沫创新者建立战略伙伴关系,指导针对各种性能需求优化的泡沫解决方案。

塑料

塑料是适应性强、重量轻、耐用、灵活且相对便宜的材料,这导致了大多数行业的广泛使用。它们可以通过多个循环加热和冷却,使其可回收利用。塑料具有多种化学成分和由此产生的行为。博伊德运用30多年来学到的塑料材料科学知识指导塑料创新。

从热塑性塑料到热化聚合物、晶体或半晶体到非晶塑料,以及可生物降解塑料和生物塑料,Boyd 运用我们的知识和能力来复合、模具和挤出塑料。我们通过我们的塑料材料科学创新,帮助客户减轻产品重量,提高耐用性和耐用性,并改善消费者体验。

织物

织物由交错纤维或纱线和针织织物制成,通过相互拉线或纱线环制成,产生用于医疗应用(如伤口治疗)的透气和可兼容的床单。

粘合在一起的纤维网形成无纺布材料,可应用于各种绝缘、吸收和过滤应用。压板毡在汽车、工业和航空航天应用中很常见,用于减少摩擦和吸收噪音

Boyd 在将面料与薄膜和胶粘剂相结合方面的专业知识使我们成为在清洁房间环境中创建高级伤口护理产品以及为最苛刻的应用构建全面的 NVH 和 BSR 减少解决方案的关键合作伙伴。

流体

流体是博伊德一些最高性能的热管理解决方案的一个重要方面。液体冷却系统或两相传热元件(如热管、蒸汽室和热西风)没有高质量的液体就无法工作。液体的高热容量使其成为快速吸收和高效输送热量的理想之选。

博伊德的材料科学专业知识使我们能够定义每个应用程序的正确流体。我们确保液体冷却系统中各组件的兼容性,并在两个阶段解决方案中满足工作温度要求。我们的液体冷却系统和两阶段工程遗产跨越了半个多世纪,在一些最苛刻的应用与流体持续超过20年。

石墨

石墨是一种高效的热材料,具有较高的平面导热性和低质量。它能够快速高效地水平地传导高热负荷。石墨自然脆脆,易碎,加工、处理和装配困难。

Boyd 利用天然石墨和合成石墨在广泛的解决方案中拥有专有的制造和设计专业知识,使我们能够高效制造石墨组件,优化为清洁和易于组装。这有助于客户利用石墨优势,同时最大限度地减少任何固有的材料困难。它重量轻、低调,具有较高的平面热导率,常用于移动电子设备中的热点散热器和卫星上使用的热带。

金属合金

金属的强度和高导热性是有效热管理解决方案的理想特征。Boyd 利用我们对金属及其各种合金的深入了解,在众多行业和无数应用中设计和制造坚固耐用的高性能冷却解决方案。Boyd 的金属合金专业知识跨越了半个多世纪,专注于高强度金属,如不锈钢和钛,或铝和铜等高导电性材料。

联系我们

看不到您要找的材料?联系我们,我们还是可以帮忙的!

有疑问?我们随时可以提供帮助!

Material Science At Boyd Corporation

We develop lighter, smaller, more functional components for our customers starting with our foundational Material Science expertise and engineering. Material innovation enables us to extend peak performance without adding weight or bulk using science to find unique ways to get more performance with less material. We’ve innovated Material Science since our founding in 1928, evolving from industrial fabrics and polymers in our early years to cutting-edge optical films today. We drive innovation both in Boyd’s Material Science portfolio and jointly with our strategic global material supply partners. We listen to our customers’ most complex challenges and creatively embrace science to solve their ambitious performance targets leveraging material characteristics. Boyd’s in-depth knowledge of material properties, compatibility, and behavior across a wide range of material types assure customers specify those materials best optimized for desired performance, sustainability goals, regional availability, full product lifecycle management, and overall best total cost of ownership.

Boyd’s Material Science Expertise enables our Customers to:

Image

Innovate with the most advanced materials available

Boyd’s Material Science heritage combined with our global material supplier partnerships assure you fully leverage the latest material innovation in your project. Advanced materials help you push the boundaries of existing designs or redefine your market.

Image

Design with confidence

Develop products with confidence knowing Boyd recommends the best fit materials for your application and project requirements. We mix and match compatible materials to design and fabricate multi-functional assemblies, packing more features into smaller spaces.

Image

Differentiate your product

Boyd’s Material Science expertise helps you implement materials that can improve your product’s lifespan, performance, functionality, and sustainability, putting your brand above the competition.

What is Material Science?

Material science is the research and study of the structures and chemical properties of natural, synthetic, or composite materials including metals and metal alloys, polymers such as rubber and plastic, ceramics, and others. Material scientists and engineers leverage this knowledge to improve existing materials or create new materials with different characteristics for new applications. Those versed in material science are also adept at recommending which materials work best in certain applications or products.

What is Boyd’s material science expertise?

Boyd’s material scientists leverage their knowledge and devise ways to improve existing materials, creatively combine materials, or develop new formulations with specific characteristics for use in different applications and products. Armed with decades of experience and access to the latest material innovation, our material science experts recommend best fit materials for your application and have been doing so since 1928.

Why trust Boyd as your Material Science Partner?

Boyd Corporation combines in-house material expertise backed by nearly 100 years, innovative and cost-effective processing methods, and excellent supplier relationships to help you find the best material for your application. We help you optimize your design while handling and converting diverse materials that integrate to create an effective multi-functional component that creatively gives the best of performance, assembly simplicity, and total overall cost.

Featured Material: Silicone

Boyd silicone expertise spans over 40 years including compounding and manufacturing silicone components for medical technology, pharmaceuticals, eMobility, food production, transportation, construction, and aerospace. From silicone tubes, extruded profiles, o-rings and sheets to complex silicone molded parts and assembled products, Boyd’s silicone solutions exceed demanding quality and safety requirements.

Films

Films or sheet materials encompass a wide range of chemical compositions, including plastics, rubber, and metals. Newer recyclable and bio-decomposable films are also becoming more available and widespread. Films commonly come in roll format allowing precision converters, like Boyd to use continual manufacturing processes like advanced rotary die cutting for high volume production. Printed films are used for labeling. Films combined with low tack adhesive are used for surface protection. Boyd also utilizes high performance optical designs to fabricate advanced display light guides.

Film materials can be precision converted in a variety of methods best suited for your application and project requirements, including rapid prototyping for quick design evaluations. Boyd’s precision converting expertise paired with our material science heritage enable us to help you make the most of film materials with high production yield rates, optimized material utilization, and complex single pass rotary converting to ensure precise film layer alignment.

Adhesives

Adhesives are materials used to join surfaces together. These bonds may be permanent or temporary, depending upon the application. Adhesives are derived from different chemistries such as acrylic, silicone, rubber, urethane, and epoxy. New biobased and bio-decomposable materials are also developing rapidly for more sustainable adhesive products.

Boyd’s adhesive expertise is wide and deep, spanning 70+ years. Our experience guiding adhesive tape formulations enables us to laminate materials together to create complex, multifunctional assemblies that offer the performance characteristics of a variety of materials. Tapes can be supported by a film material as either single sided or double-sided tape, or come with no carrier material, called transfer tapes. Adhesives can also be integrated into foam materials or take the form of mechanical fasteners like hook and loop fabrics, which also join surfaces together.

Rubber

Rubber is an elastic polymeric substance that can be either natural or synthetic. It can regain its original shape within limits after being deformed if not vulcanized. Vulcanizing rubber adds strength. Rubber is generally tough, resilient, and resistant to environmental and chemical exposure. It is used as a key ingredient in a wide variety of material formulations including sponge, foam, adhesives, and films in addition to traditionally recognized rubber components like hoses.

Boyd custom compounds, molds, extrudes, and converts rubber to produce resilient components that offer a variety of characteristics. Our rubber material science heritage dates 70+ years.

Foams

Foam and sponge rubber are compressible, resilient, lightweight materials that help insulate, absorb shock and impact, damp noise and vibration, and seal gaps and joints. Foams can be closed-cell, more suited to sealing applications, or open-celled, which are typically better for damping applications. Both come in a vast range of base chemistries, densities, thicknesses, and additional properties to help meet specific product requirements.

Boyd’s proprietary foam formulation, SOLIMIDE® Foams, is an extremely lightweight, broad temperature range, fire resistant foam that is ideal for thermal and acoustic insulation. We leverage our foam material science expertise broadly across our strategic partnerships with foam innovators to guide foam solutions optimized for a variety of performance needs.

Plastics

Plastics are adaptable, lightweight, durable, flexible, and relatively inexpensive materials, which has led to widespread use across most industries. They can be heated and cooled through numerous cycles, making them recyclable. Plastics come in a wide variety of chemical compositions and resulting behaviors. Boyd applies plastic material science knowledge learned over 30+ years to guide plastic innovation.

From thermoplastics to thermosetting polymers, crystalline or semi-crystalline to amorphous plastics, and biodegradable plastics and bioplastics, Boyd employs our knowledge and ability to compound, mold, and extrude plastics. We help customers decrease product weight, increase resilience and durability, and improve the consumer experience using our plastic material science innovation.

Fabrics

Woven fabrics, created by interlacing fibers or yarns, and knit fabrics, made by pulling loops of thread or yarn through each other, generate breathable and conformable sheets commonly used in medical applications such as wound therapy.

Fibrous webs that are bonded together form nonwoven sheet materials that are viable for a wide variety of insulation, absorption, and filtration applications. Pressed sheet felts are common in automotive, industrial, and aerospace applications for reducing friction and absorbing noise

Boyd’s expertise in combining fabrics with films and adhesives have made us a key partner in creating advanced wound care products in our clean room environments and construct comprehensive NVH and BSR reducing solutions for the most demanding applications.

Fluids

Fluids are an essential aspect to some of Boyd’s highest performance thermal management solutions. Liquid Cooling Systems or Two-Phase heat transfer components like heat pipes, vapor chambers, and thermosiphons cannot function without high quality liquids. Liquid’s high heat capacity makes it ideal to quickly absorb and transport heat efficiently.

Boyd’s material science expertise enables us to define the right fluid for each application. We ensure compatibility across components in a liquid cooled system and operating temperatures are met in two phase solutions. Our Liquid Cooling System and two phase engineering heritage spans over half a century in some of the most demanding applications with fluids lasting upwards of 20 years.

Graphite

Graphite is a highly effective thermal material with its high planar thermal conductivity and low mass. It is capable of horizontally conducting high thermal loads quickly and efficiently. Graphite is naturally brittle and flakey, making processing, handling, and assembly difficult.

Boyd leverages both natural and synthetic graphite in a wide range of solutions with proprietary fabrication and design expertise that enables us to efficiently manufacture graphite components optimized for clean and easy assembly. This helps customers leverage graphite benefits while minimizing any inherent material difficulties. Being lightweight, low profile, and with high planar thermal conductivity, it is commonly used as hot spot heat spreaders in mobile electronics and thermal straps used on satellites.

Metal Alloys

The strength and high thermal conductivity of metals are ideal characteristics in effective thermal management solutions. Boyd employs our in-depth knowledge of metals and their various alloys to design and fabricate rugged, high-performance cooling solutions in a breadth of industries and innumerable applications. Boyd’s metal alloy expertise spans over half a century and focuses on high strength metals such as stainless steel and titanium or high conductivity materials like aluminum and copper.

Contact Us

Don't see the material you are looking for? Contact us, we can still help!

Have questions? We're ready to help!