坚固、高导电性的热和机械接头和密封件

真空胸罩组件可以在广泛的市场和应用中找到。这些组件的范围从用于汽车应用的石油冷却器到高度复杂的环境控制系统,为航空航天和国防工业减轻了重量。真空焊接工艺特别适合需要高质量接头、轻质总成以及高热和机械性能的产品。

与其他连接铝的冶金技术相比,真空炉钎焊具有诸多技术优势:

机械强度:

  • 类似于父材料的高强度、无空隙、无泄漏关节
  • 证明压力可以达到 800 psi 和爆裂压力高达 1300 psi
  • 可焊接长接头(否则无法连接)
  • 内部接头的选择,即使在复杂的结构中,也增加了部分的整体强度


卓越的热性能:

  • 使用类似母体和粗放材料性能的均匀导热性
  • 耐热性高达350°F (176°C)
  • 使高度增强的表面结构增强热传输


一致和清洁的结果:

  • 由于均匀加热和冷却,失真最小,非常适合复杂的几何形状
  • 连接表面公差小,钎焊结果一致性高
  • 无需助焊剂,零件清洁,无腐蚀性助焊剂残留(与浸焊不同)
  • 加工过程中无表面劣化

具有多个接头的复杂组件的单一工艺生产可以降低成本,同时提高产品质量。80% 的产量是真空焊制过程的典型,但在仔细控制的工艺中,98% 或更好的产量是可能的。真空焊料是制造高性能铝冷板和热交换器的首选连接工艺。

真空吹牛过程

真空焊接是一种通过加热装配部件之间的焊接合金来连接组件的制造过程。与父组件材料相比,布拉泽合金的熔化温度较低。在加热过程之前,在固定到位的母合金的紧密拟合部件之间应用粗放合金。为了加快组装速度,特殊包衣部件可以去除粗制合金应用步骤。组装部件固定在一起,以便在加热和冷却期间保持接触。组件放置在真空炉中,加热至至少 450°C,该水平将熔化粗制合金,但不会熔化主要材料。该炉具有真空环境,可消除氧化风险和通量需求。熔融的毛刺合金通过毛细花作用填补了组件之间的空白,因此当部件冷却时,它通过原子吸引和扩散形成一个接头。真空焊接产生清洁的单件结构,具有强接头,导热性几乎与母材料相同。

均匀的加热、严格的温度控制、无后清洗过程和过程可重复性使真空钎焊成为热和结构装配的理想工艺。铝冷板板翅片式换热器平板管换热器通常采用真空钎焊。

真空焊制准备和设置

在真空焊化之前,清洁冷板和热交换器组件。去除油脂、油污、污垢和氧化物可确保毛细膏有均匀的毛细花作用,使毛刺合金扩散。清洁组件需要达到最高质量的胸罩接头。

临时部件被钉在较复杂的组件上,以在部件膨胀和加热和冷却周期的收缩期间保持对齐。这对热交换器至关重要,热交换器由许多较小的组件层构建而成。

真空焊菜 + 真空焊炉

炉型决定了温度、真空度和循环时间。冷板和换热器的钎焊通常在约1100°F (593°C)和5~6托之间的真空度下进行。但炉型很大程度上取决于选择的合金、炉内总质量以及所使用的真空炉。钎焊炉控制器会监控真空度和温度,并按照配方中的程序自动运行,直到循环完成。

Boyd Corporation 钎焊炉已通过 AWS C3.7 A、B 和 C 级钎焊认证。

真空焊制简介

有问题吗?

资源和下载

博伊德航空解决方案

真空焊后处理

要启动焊制过程,零件将组装并放置在焊制固定装置中。低热质量夹具可减少焊盘循环时间。如果合金中不存在镁,它将被添加到熔炉中,以收集剩余的氧分子并防止氧化。在装配之前,工程师们为真空炉定义了温度图,以达到特定设计和应用的最高质量。

在临时卸件和总装清洁后,将烤制组件存放在密封容器中,并放置在温度和湿度控制的装配室中。这确保了组件在组装和焊制之前免受额外的氧化和污染。在装配过程中,将佩戴防护手套,以进一步保护部件免受污染。

真空钎焊装配质量保证

根据零件的应用要求及其复杂性,氦气泄漏检查可以验证钎焊接头的密封性。需要T4或T6硬度级的零件在密封测试后进行热处理。这使得能够以与未经处理的铝相似的进给和速度进行加工。根据单个零件的几何形状,其他工艺(如矫直)可以在需要时以更有效的方式加工成品零件。阅读更多关于 Boyd 测试和验证功能!

真空编织大会

虽然它可以限制固定或烤箱的大小,真空焊接是一个非常多才多艺和清洁的过程。因此,它往往是用于生产轻质高性能组件的首选制造工艺,并增加了内部表面积。这些结构的范围从带内部通道的木板式组件到电子外壳,无论是否有内部特征,如冷墙。

Boyd专门从事钎焊热交换器,液体冷板,散热器,底盘和外壳。

液冷板

铝真空吹冷板通道流体在两个铝板之间的腔内流动:

扩展曲面

带中索通道、微通道或扩展表面的冷板具有细滑或折叠鳍,具有很高的热性能。

Vortex

高度专业化的几何形状能够在冷板的两侧实现均匀冷却,从而获得更稳定的性能。

换热器

扁平管式换热器

扁管换热器,也称为油冷却器,在扁管之间有翅片。增加扁平管和外部翅片内的表面积,以最大限度地提高热交换器的热性能。

管翅式换热器

管鳍热交换器利用通过密集鳍堆栈的管子。通常由安装框架支持以增加机械强度。也被称为鳍线圈热交换器。

板翅式换热器

固体板将热量从液体流动路径传导到二次流体流动,并在板鳍热交换器内提供更强的结构完整性和易于定制。

热交换器重核

带中索通道、微通道或扩展表面的冷板具有细滑或折叠鳍,具有很高的热性能。

普通铝焊合金和填料

可钎焊合金包括:

  • 锻铝6061、6063、6082、6951(可热处理)和1100
  • 3000系列(不可热处理)
  • 由于合金的局限性,2000和7000系列材料通常不适合钎焊
  • 5000系列由于含有镁,所以不适合钎焊

填充金属

  • 将少量的硅、铜、锌和其他金属添加到铝中以降低其熔点
  • 用于真空焊制的镁
  • 典型的耐腐蚀填充合金包括4047、4343和4045
  • 有片状、线状和粉末状
  • 还使用了包覆钎焊板(嵌在铝表面上的填充合金)
  • 21到24号可用于真空钎焊

A356、A357、443 和 700 系列是可浇注合金,可使用 GTAW(气体钨弧焊)手动焊接到热交换器上,后钎焊

有疑问?我们随时可以提供帮助!

Image

Vacuum Brazing

Strong, highly conductive thermal and mechanical joints and seals

Vacuum Brazing Overview

Vacuum brazed assemblies can be found in a wide array of markets and applications. These assemblies can range from oil coolers for automotive applications to highly complex environmental control systems with reduced weights for the aerospace and defense industries. The vacuum brazing process is especially ideal for products where high quality joints, lightweight assemblies, and high thermal and mechanical performances are required.

Compared to other metallurgical techniques for joining aluminum, vacuum furnace brazing offers numerous technical advantages:

Mechanical Strength:

  • High-strength, void-free, leak-free joints similar to parent materials
  • Proof pressures can reach up to 800 psi and burst pressures up to 1300 psi
  • Ability to fill long, otherwise inaccessible joints
  • Option for internal joints, even in complex structures, increasing the part’s overall strength


Excellent Thermal Properties:

  • Uniform thermal conductivity from using similar parent and braze material properties
  • Temperature resistance up to 350°F (176°C)
  • Enables highly enhanced surface structures to enhance thermal transfer


Consistent & Clean Results:

  • Minimal distortion due to uniform heating and cooling, ideal for complex geometries
  • Consistently reproducible results with tightly toleranced joining surfaces
  • Extremely clean parts with no residual corrosive flux due to the flux-free process (unlike dip brazing)
  • No surface deterioration during processing

Single process production of complex assemblies with multiple joints can lower cost while increasing product quality. Yields of 80% are typical for the vacuum brazing process, but 98% or better yields are possible in a carefully controlled process. With high yields for complex fabrications, vacuum brazing is the preferred joining process for manufacturing high performance aluminum cold plates and heat exchangers.

The Vacuum Braze Process

Vacuum brazing is a manufacturing process for joining components by heating a braze alloy between the assembly components. Braze alloys have a lower melting temperature than the parent component material. Prior to the heating process, the braze alloy is applied between close fitting components of the parent alloy that are fixtured into place. To expedite assembly, specially braze-clad components can remove the braze alloy application step. Assembled parts are kept fixtured together to maintain contact during heating and cooling. Assemblies are placed in a vacuum furnace that is heated to at least 450°C, a level that will melt the braze alloy but not the main material. The furnace has a vacuum environment, which eliminates the risk of oxidation and need for flux. The molten braze alloy fills in gaps between components through capillary action so that when the part is cooled, it forms a joint through atomic attraction and diffusion. Vacuum brazing produces a clean, one-piece construction with strong joints with thermal conductivity nearly the same as the parent material.

Uniform heating, tight temperature control, no post cleaning processes, and process repeatability make Vacuum brazing an ideal process for thermal and structural assemblies. Aluminum cold plates, plate-fin heat exchangers, and flat tube heat exchangers are often vacuum brazed.

Vacuum Brazing Preparation & Setup

Before vacuum brazing, cold plate and heat exchanger components are cleaned. Removing grease, oil, dirt, and oxides ensures there is uniform capillary action for the braze alloy to spread. Clean components are required to achieve the highest quality braze joints.

Temporary parts are tack welded to the more complex assemblies to maintain alignment during component expansion and contraction during the heating and cooling cycle. This is essential for heat exchangers, which are built from many layers of smaller components.


Quick Request


Vacuum Brazing & Vacuum Braze Ovens

The furnace profile specifies the temperature, vacuum level, and cycle time. Brazing of cold plates and heat exchangers usually takes place at approximately 1100°F (593°C) and a vacuum level between 5 to 6 Torr. However, the profile depends in large part on alloys selected, total mass in the furnace, and the vacuum furnace being used. The furnace controller monitors vacuum levels and temperatures and automatically advances to the next segment as programmed in the recipe until the cycle is complete.

Aavid, Thermal Division of Boyd Corporation braze furnaces are certified to braze per AWS C3.7 Class A, B, and C.

Vacuum Brazing Post Processing

To start the brazing process, parts are assembled and placed into brazing fixtures. Low thermal mass fixtures reduce brazing cycle time. If magnesium is not present in the alloy, it will be added to the furnace to collect remaining oxygen molecules and prevent oxidation. Before assemblies are brazed, engineers define a temperature profile for the vacuum furnace to achieve the highest quality braze for the specific design and application.

After temporary component removal and final assembly cleaning, brazed assemblies are stored in sealed containers and placed in a temperature and humidity-controlled room for assembly. This ensures that components are protected from additional oxidation and contamination prior to assembly and brazing. During assembly, protective gloves are worn to further protect components from contamination.

Vacuum Brazed Assembly Quality Assurance

Depending on application requirements of the part and its complexity, a helium leak check can verify the leak tightness of brazed joints. Parts that require T4 or T6 hardness stage undergo heat treatment after leak tight tests. This enables machining at similar feeds and speeds as those for untreated aluminum. Depending on individual part geometries, additional processes such as straightening may allow more effective ways of machining the finished components when required.

Vacuum Brazed Assemblies

Although it can be limited by fixturing or oven size, vacuum brazing is an extremely versatile and clean process. As such, it tends to be the preferred manufacturing process used to produce lightweight, high performance assemblies with increased internal surface areas. These structures can range from plank type assemblies with internal channels to electronic enclosures, with or without internal features such as cold walls.

Aavid specializes in Brazed Heat Exchangers, Liquid Cold Plates, Heat Sinks, Chassis, and Enclosures.

Liquid Cold Plates

Aluminum vacuum-brazed cold plates channel fluid flow within a cavity between two aluminum plates:

This image for Image Layouts addon

Extended Surface

Cold plates with meso channels, micro channels, or extended surfaces featuring skived or folded fins offer high thermal performance.

Learn More
This image for Image Layouts addon

Vortex

Highly specialized geometry allows for uniform cooling on both sides of the cold plate enabling more consistent performance.

Heat Exchangers

This image for Image Layouts addon

Flat Tube Heat Exchangers

Flat Tube Heat Exchangers, also known as oil coolers, have fins between flat tubes. Increase surface area within flat tubes and external fins to maximize thermal performance of your heat exchanger

Learn More
This image for Image Layouts addon

Tube-Fin Heat Exchangers

Tube-Fin Heat Exchanger utilize tubes passing through a dense fin stack. Typically supported by a mounting frame for added mechanical strength. Also known as finned coil heat exchangers.

Learn More
This image for Image Layouts addon

Plate Fin Heat Exchangers

Solid plates conduct heat from liquid flow paths to secondary fluid flows and offer increased structural integrity and easy customization within Plate Fin Heat Exchangers.

Learn More
This image for Image Layouts addon

Heat Exchangers Re-Core

Reduce the cost of a full heat exchanger replacement with Heat Exchanger Recores by up to 30%.

Learn More

Common Aluminum Brazing Alloys and Fillers

Brazeable Alloys include:

  • Wrought Aluminum 6061, 6063, 6082, 6951 (heat treatable) and 1100
  • 3000 Series (non heat treatable)
  • Cast Alloys A356, A357 and 443, 700 Series (less typical)
  • 2000 and 7000 Series materials not typically brazed due to alloy limitations
  • 5000 Series due to magnesium content

Filler Metals

  • Silicon, copper, zinc and others added in small quantities to aluminum to lower its melting point
  • Magnesium for vacuum brazing
  • Typical Corrosion Resistant Filler Alloys include 4047, 4343 and 4045
  • Comes in sheet, wire and powder forms
  • Clad Brazing Sheet (filler alloy embedded on aluminum surface) also used
  • No. 21 through 24 can be used for vacuum brazing

Have questions? We're ready to help!