两相冷却

无源式两相传热装置有多种结构,关键运行原理却是相同的,就是利用蒸汽快速高效的把热量带到更有效散热处。这些封闭系统在真空密封状态下包含有少量液体,液体吸收热量蒸发, 然后蒸汽传输到冷端,在那里放热并冷凝成液态,最后液体通过重力或毛细作用再返回到蒸发端部分。

由于没有运动部件,这个循环可无限重复下去。 另外,由于汽化潜热,流体在从液体到蒸汽的相变过程中吸收并携带更多的能量或热量。其导热效率比用金属或常规单相冷却散热器(例如液体或空气冷却系统)高得多。

由于它们能够无动力地传递高热负荷,所以通常将诸如热管和均温板的两相冷却装置集成到同一系统中去进一步优化性能。

获取设计工程帮助

 

热管

热管具有高度的设计灵活性,因为它可以用于在散热器基板热扩散,或将热量传递至远处翅片或冷却系统中。 最常见的热管是由铜和水构成,它们也可以利用其他流体和材料来满足特定的设备需求。 芯体结构常为烧结粉芯,它可使流体通过毛细作用而非重力作用返回到蒸发端; 但是也可以根据设计需要使用其他管芯结构。

查看Aavid热管性能

均温板

均温板的工作方式与热管非常相似,但它们的平面结构相比轴向热管而言允许热量沿着更多的方向传递。 正因为如此,它们通常用于散热器基板内并极大地改善其热扩散性能。

查看Aavid 均温板功能

虹吸管

不像热管与均温板,热虹吸管利用重力使液体返回到蒸发端,因此设计时需更多的考虑安装方向。 通常实际的虹吸热管都包括翅片,且因其是一个完整系统故尺寸也比热管或均温板大。当可靠性是主要因素时,热虹吸管可被认为是强制液体冷却的潜在替代品。

查看Aavid 虹吸管功能
获取设计工程帮助

Two Phase Cooling

Passive two-phase heat transfer devices come in a variety of constructions, but operate under the same key principal of utilizing vapor to transfer heat quickly and efficiently to where it can be more effectively dissipated. These are closed systems that contain a small amount of liquid that is then vacuum sealed. Heat is absorbed from the heat source where it evaporates the local liquid. The vapor then travels to a cooler region of the solution where it cools and condenses back into a liquid state. The liquid then returns to the evaporator portion through either gravity or capillary action.

As there are no moving parts, this cycle can repeat indefinitely. Additionally, because of the latent heat of vaporization, fluid can absorb and carry more energy or heat during phase change from liquid to a vapor. This provides a much higher effective conductivity than the metals typically used for heat sinks or single phase cooling such as a liquid or air cooled system.

Because of their ability to passively transfer high heat loads, two-phase cooling devices such as heat pipes and vapor chambers are often integrated into cooling solutions and systems to further optimize performance.

Get Design Engineering Help

Heat Pipes

Heat Pipes offer a significant amount of design flexibility as they can be used for heat spreading within the base of a heat sink or for heat transfer to remote fin stacks or cooling systems. Most commonly constructed of copper and water, they can also be made utilizing other fluids and materials for specific application needs. Sintered powder wicks are most often used to enable the capillary action that allows the fluid to return to the evaporation point without the use of gravity; however other wick structures can be utilized based on design requirements.

View Aavid Heat Pipe CapabilitiesView Heat Pipe Kits

Vapor Chambers

Vapor chambers work in much the same fashion as heat pipes, however they have a planar construction that allows heat to spread in more directions than the more axial heat pipes. Because of this, they are often used for heat spreading within a heat sink base to greatly improve performance.

View Aavid Vapor Chamber Capabilities

Thermosiphons

Unlike heat pipes and vapor chambers, thermosiphons use gravity to return the liquid to the evaporator and therefore have more design considerations regarding orientation. Assemblies typically include integrated fins as part of the actual thermosiphon and are often on a larger scale than heat pipes or vapor chambers as it is a more complete system. When reliability is a major factor, thermosiphons can be considered as a potential replacement for active liquid cooling.

View Aavid Thermosiphon Capabilities
Get Design Engineering Help