简介

在为电动汽车(EV)制造一系列新的电池时,一家领先的电池生产商与博伊德接触,为电池组设计新的液体冷板。新的电池组将出现在大型电动特种车辆(如消防和垃圾车)中,这些车辆需要大量的电力,因此需要严格的热和重量管理要求。

项目详情

客户:
  • 电动汽车电池制造商

应用:
  • 特种电动汽车电池

技术:
  • 液冷板

行业:
  • 电动汽车

位置:
  • 美国
图像

EV 电池冷却挑战

客户在最初的电池组开发中发现了几个挑战。虽然他们拥有为电动工具和室内多功能车制造小型电池的经验,但正在过渡到为大型特种电动汽车制造电池组。

特种车辆的功率需求要求每个EV车型的电池组设计,导致高热负荷。为了确保较大的电池组保持足够冷,能够在整个车辆使用寿命内运行,客户需要专为此应用设计的定制液体冷板 (LCP)。每块电池还需要一个高性能的 TIM(热接口材料)来接触电池热源,并在传输到液体冷板和液体冷却系统时最大限度地减少热量损失。

最初,重量并不被视为一个大的设计问题,因为电池组和完整的特种车辆已经很大。然而,在整个评估和测试过程中,人们越来越担心LCP的大小可能会影响电池续航里程。为了确保增加的 LCP 重量对电池续航里程的影响最小,冷板尽可能紧凑和轻质也变得至关重要。

博伊德的EV液体冷板解决方案

工作开始于博伊德的专用设计中心之一,对每个新的电池组尺寸进行了广泛的热分析,以确定项目的准确、最佳的热需求。一旦这些参数被定义,博伊德提出了几个不同的过去冷板的例子,已经成功地实施到电动汽车电池具有类似的要求。还介绍了若干台电煤层,每个都具有不同的热性能。

在评估了各种选择后,Boyd 的工程师和客户共同决定,采用纤维增强热垫的铝制液体冷板将是最佳解决方案。博伊德的设计中心工程师立即开始根据每个电池组的需求开发图纸。虽然初始设计在处理热管理要求方面很有效,但冷板相对较大,电池的额外重量成为问题。

Boyd利用其在冷板结构方面的丰富经验,并开始研究减轻重量的方法。经过一些实验,Boyd工程师通过优化每个电池的每个冷板的尺寸和形状,显着降低了电池冷板的重量。新结构有效地冷却了极端的电池组热量,同时将整体重量比初始设计减轻了40%。

设计完成后,博伊德的原型设计团队迅速开始制作盖章和 CAB 吹牛冷板原型进行评估。

电动汽车电池用绿色阳极氧化可控原子球钎焊液冷板
图像

特种车电池液体冷板结果

原型在电池组内进行了广泛的测试,并证明在消除电池热量方面非常有效。最终,高效轻质的液体冷板能够显著提高热性能,同时将电池组的整体重量降低 40% 以上 电池将实施到一系列新的电动特种车辆,该项目的成功带来了其他热的机会与客户。

有疑问?我们随时可以提供帮助!

Introduction

When creating a new series of batteries for electric vehicles (EVs), a leading battery producer approached Boyd to design new liquid cold plates for the battery packs. The new battery packs would be featured in large electric specialty vehicles (such as fire and refuse vehicles) which require extensive amounts of power, leading to strict thermal and weight management requirements.

Project Details

Customer:
  • Electric Vehicle Battery Manufacturer

Application:
  • Specialty Electric Vehicle Batteries

Technology:
  • Liquid Cold Plates

Industry:
  • eMobility

Location:
  • United States
Image

EV Battery Cooling Challenge

The customer discovered several challenges during initial battery pack development. While experienced in creating smaller batteries for power tools and indoor utility vehicles, they were transitioning to creating battery packs for large, specialty EVs.

The specialty vehicle power demand required new, larger battery pack designs for each EV model which resulted in high heat loads. To ensure that the larger battery packs remained cool enough for operation throughout the vehicle’s lifespan, the customer needed custom liquid cold plates (LCPs) designed specifically for this application. Each battery would also need a high-performing TIM (Thermal Interface Material) to contact the battery heat source and minimize heat loss during transfer to the liquid cold plates and liquid cooling system.

Initially, weight was not seen as a big design concern, given the already large size of the battery packs and the complete specialty vehicle. However, throughout evaluation and testing, concerns grew regarding the size of the LCPs potentially affecting battery range. To ensure the added LCP weight minimally affected battery range, it also became crucial for the cold plates to be as compact and light weight as possible.

Boyd’s EV Liquid Cold Plate Solution

Work began in one of Boyd’s dedicated design centers, where an extensive thermal analysis was performed on each of the new battery pack sizes to define the exact, optimal thermal requirements for the project. Once these parameters were defined, Boyd presented several different past cold plate examples that had been successfully implemented into electric vehicle batteries with similar requirements. Several TIMs were also presented, each featuring different thermal properties.

After evaluating options, Boyd’s engineers and the customer collaboratively decided that an aluminum liquid cold plate featuring a fiber-reinforced thermal pad would be the optimal solution. Boyd’s design center engineers immediately began developing drawings based on each individual battery pack’s needs. While initial designs were effective in handling the thermal management requirements, the cold plates were relatively large, and the additional weight on the battery became a concern.

Boyd leveraged its extensive experience with cold plate construction and began working on ways to cut down weight. After some experimentation, Boyd engineers significantly lowered cold plate weight by optimizing the size and shape of each cold plate for each individual battery. The new construction effectively cooled the extreme battery pack heat while reducing the overall weight by 40% from the initial design.

Once a design was finalized, Boyd’s prototyping team quickly began creating stamped and CAB brazed cold plate prototypes for evaluation.

Image
Image

Specialty Vehicle Battery Liquid Cold Plate Results

The prototypes were extensively tested within the battery packs and proven to be highly effective at removing heat from the batteries. Ultimately, the highly-efficient and lightweight liquid cold plates were able to dramatically increase thermal performance while decreasing the overall weight of the battery pack by over 40%. The batteries will be implemented into a line of new electric specialty vehicles, and the success of the project has led to other thermal opportunities with the customer.

Have questions? We're ready to help!