功率控制热管案例分析

设计挑战

一家工业电器制造商有一套新的功率调节和控制系统,而这套系统只有非常有限的散热空间。这套新系统有三个大功率IGBT靠近一个小的热散窗口,而环境上限温度条件为50°C。系统还存在一个瞬态条件,即每隔10分钟,系统就会有1分钟的时间存在功率增加一倍的情况,这增加了项目的复杂性。宝德(Boyd)公司的热工部门Aavid曾为许多其他具有类似形状因数的项目提供过帮助,但都没有达到过这种功率水平。

放置散热器的机柜有两个用于强制对流散热的风扇,但气流与另一个冷却SCR的散热器共享。虽然所有可用空气都可以完全流经这两个散热器,但在系统顶部有65%的气流受阻。新的散热器设计需要注意整个机柜中气流和压降之间难以把握的平衡。

联系我们

 

Aavid解决方案

Aavid在过去曾通过铝挤解决方案解决过类似的应用问题,但对于这种高功率,铝挤翅片密度无法解决这个问题。而采用具有高翅片密度的粘合翅片方法则增加了换热面积。接下来要提高的性能是将功率尽可能在底座上分散开,从而降低局部热点温度。在每个IGBT下面使用多个热管,增加了每个设备的有效占地面积。这使得热量更容易进入翅片中,而这些翅片并不直接位于IGBT的上方。

嵌在底座上的热管满足了9分钟稳态的散热要求,但双倍功率的1分钟瞬态性能仍不理想。为提升散热器性能,将热管从底座的顶部穿过,然后进入翅片中间。通过将热量传送到翅片的中间,离底座最远的翅片尖变得更为有效。

在进行了大量的热CFD设计工作之后,制造了样机并进行了测试,而结果令人满意。此设计现在已成功量产。

最终打造出一款非常高效的散热器,其所占体积不会超过标准铝挤或普通型粘合翅片散热器。

Heat Pipes for Power Control Case Study

The Design Challenge

A manufacturer of industrial appliances had a new power conditioning and control system with very limited heatsink space available. The new system had three high power IGBT’s in close proximity with a small thermal window due to a 50°C max ambient temperature condition. To compound the complexity of the project, there was a transient condition to the system that would double the power for 1 minute every 10 minutes. Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, had assisted many other projects with similar form factors although not with this level of power.

The cabinet that housed the heatsink had two fans for forced convection but the airflow was shared with another heatsink to cool an SCR. Although the heatsinks were fully ducted to force all of the available air through them, the top of the system was obstructed by baffling the restricted 65% of the airflow. The new heatsink design would need to mind the difficult balance of airflow vs pressure drop through the entire cabinet.

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Aavid Solution

Similar applications in the past had been addressed by Aavid with extruded solutions but with this high power the fin density of an extrusion was not going to cut it. A bonded fin approach with higher fin density was adopted to increase the surface area for heat transfer. The next performance enhancement was to spread the power throughout as much of the base as possible to lower the temperature of the localized hot spots. Using multiple heat pipes under each IGBT, the effective footprint of each device was increased. This made it easier for heat to get into the fins that were not directly over the IGBT’s.

The heat pipes embedded in the base helped to meet the thermal requirements for the 9 minute steady state but the performance was still lacking for the double power 1 minutes transient state. To give the heatsink a performance bump, heat pipes were run from the top of the base and then in through the middle of the fins. By transporting heat to the middle of the fins, the fin tips furthest from the base became more effective.

Following extensive thermal CFD design work, prototypes were built and tested with passing results. This design is now in successful mass production.

The end result was a very efficient heatsink that took up no more volume than a typical extruded or plain bonded fin heatsink.