汽车显示器HUD案例分析

项目详情

客户:Navdy

应用:平视显示器(HUD)

技术:热管、散热器

行业:消费类电子产品

地点:美国加州旧金山

联系我们

 

设计挑战

汽车行业仍然继续走在技术融合的前沿。例如,二级市场上的平视显示器(HUD)设备可在汽车方向盘上方直接为驾驶员提供信息。这些创新设备的一个最好实例就是Navdy即将推出的平视显示器。这种显示器可与Android或iOS手机连接,将手机上的各种通知显示在透明屏幕上。这款显示器可以使驾驶员通过手势和语音识别操控HUD,这样就可以将视线集中在道路上。

这一开创性驾驶设备所面临的最大威胁是热管理。将设备安装到汽车仪表盘上之后,设备内置的精密电子元件和投影系统会受到各种高温的影响。

由于安装位置的原因,存放和运行条件都会造成威胁。最糟糕也是最常见的一种存放条件就是把车露天停放在炎热的阳光下。由于阳光直射入汽车和设备的顶面,使环境温度急剧上升。而在运行过程中,设备内部有几个关键部件需要保持在特定温度以下才能正常工作。

为弄清这些问题并为HUD开发一套有效的热解决方案,Navdy雇请了宝德(Boyd)公司的热工部门Aavid。

Aavid解决方案

为攻克这一既定挑战,设计重点被分为两部分。第一部分是研究设备在存放过程中遮阳板的效果。第二部分是在运行过程中设备内部主动冷却的设计选项。

为开发遮阳板解决方案,Aavid进行了大量的研究和阳光测试,设计出一个合适的顶部外壳,以降低存放和运行过程中的总热负荷。进行阳光测试时,将设备放置在汽车中,并置于一个阳光负荷可控的人造环境舱中。

为评估运行模式的主动冷却选项,Aavid在CFD中对设备进行了建模,以改善设备内部的气流路径、各种部件的热解决方案,以及部件在设备内部的位置。

Navdy和Aavid的合作打造出一款先进的平视显示器设备,该设备具备了创新型热管理解决方案,从而解决了两个重要的技术难题。

Aavid的解决方案增强了Navdy的产品性能,使设备具有更高的可靠性和更长的使用寿命。诸如Navdy的HUD设备的开发和使用,为所有人提高了道路安全性,这些设备越可靠,我们的道路就越安全。

获得工程设计帮助

Automotive Display HUD Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Navdy

Application: Head-up Display (HUD)

Technology: Heat Pipe, Heat Sink

Industry: Consumer Electronic

Location: San Francisco, CA, USA

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Design Challenge

Automobiles continue to be at the vanguard of technology convergence. One example of this is after market head-up display (HUD) devices that project information for the driver directly above the steering wheel of a car. A prime example of these innovative devices is Navdy’s upcoming head up display that links with an Android or iOS phone to display various notifications from the phone onto a transparent screen. The display allows the driver to control the HUD using hand gestures and voice recognition so the driver can keep their eyes focused on the road.

The largest threat to the success of this groundbreaking driving device is thermal management. The sophisticated electronics and projection system contained within the device is subject to varying and often high temperatures as it is mounted to the dashboard of the vehicle.

Because of the mounting location, both storing and operation conditions pose a threat. The worst storing condition is also one of the most common, when a vehicle is parked out in the open on a hot, sunny day. The ambient temperature rises drastically as solar loading pours heat energy into the car and the unit’s top surface. During operation there are several crucial components inside the unit that need to be maintained below a specific temperature for the unit to function properly.

To understand these problems and develop an effective thermal solution forth HUD, Navdy hired Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation.

The Aavid Solution

To solve the given challenges, the design focus was broken up into two parts. The first was to investigate the effectiveness of a solar shield for the unit during storage. The second to design options for active cooling inside the unit during operation.

To develop the solar shield solution, Aavid did extensive research and solar testing to design a suitable top housing that reduced the overall thermal load during storage and operating. The solar test setup has the unit inside a car and placed inside an environment chamber with a controlled solar load.

To evaluate active cooling options for operating mode, Aavid modeled the unit in CFD to improve the air flow path within the unit, thermal solutions on various components, and components placement inside the unit.

The result from the collaboration between Navy and Aavid was a head up display unit that has an innovative thermal management solution for two significant technical problems.

Aavid's solutions enhanced Navdy’s product and enabled a device higher in reliability and with a longer lifetime. The development and use of devices such as Navdy’s HUDs increase road safety for all and the more reliable they are, the safer our roads become.

Get Design Engineering Help