增强现实案例分析

项目详情

客户:Osterhout Design Group

应用:增强现实

技术:材料和组件

行业:可穿戴设备

地点:美国加州旧金山

联系我们

 

设计挑战

加州Osterhout Design Group (ODG) 为美国的可穿戴技术铺平了道路。最近ODG开发出世界上最先进的头戴式计算系统:增强现实智能眼镜。这种可穿戴设备包含一组PCB和带有多个天线的电子元件,这些天线最初被密封在一个塑料外壳中。

对该设备的热测试显示,内部部件和接触身体的外部表面存在高温问题。ODG最初为CPU设计了一个小型散热器,但其解决散热问题的效果尚不明确。

宝德(Boyd)公司热工部门Aavid的团队面临的挑战包括:创造一个安全舒适的外部温度、加强天线接收的信号,以及保持内部设备冷却。在规定的时间内,我们要预测和改进玻璃的热性能,而玻璃所处的环境是一个覆盖天线区域的塑料外壳材料下的自然对流环境。

Aavid解决方案

Aavid为现有设备创建了一个CFD模型,并对模型参数进行了微调,以匹配提供的热测试数据。对顶部铝制散热器进行了改进,通过增大其有效表面积来提高其辐射和对流传热能力。其次,对整个装置的热传导进行了优化,以减少热点与外部表面之间的温度梯度。加装了巧妙布置的石墨片以分散热量,同时使用隔热材料将用户皮肤与接触面散发的热量隔离。

为改善设备的美观性,将铝制散热器安装在PCB板上,能掩饰许多凹凸不平和杂乱无章的地方。PCB本身作为散热系统的一部分,可用于提高性能。另外,还用热界面材料填充于铝制散热器和PCB上关键器件之间的空隙。

基线模拟结果与样机热试验数据能很好吻合。顶部铝制散热器能有效地将热量从系统中去除。通过采用其他导热和隔热材料,如可灌注热界面材料、石墨、泡棉和PCB本身,设备的美观性和实用性有了显著改善。

有关此项革新技术的更多信息,请访问www.osterhoutgroup.com

获得工程设计帮助

Augmented Reality Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Osterhout Design Group

Application: Augmented Reality

Technology: Materials & Assembly

Industry: Wearables

Location: San Francisco, California, USA

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Design Challenge

Osterhout Design Group (ODG) out of California has paved the way for wearable technology in America. Recently ODG has developed the world’s most advanced head worn computing system: augmented reality smart glasses. The wearable device involves an array of PCB and electronics with multiple antennas which were initially sealed into a plastic housing.

Thermal testing of the device revealed high temperature issues on the internal components and the exterior surfaces that touch the body. ODG had initially designed a small heat sink for the CPU but its effectiveness in solving thermal issues was unclear.

The challenges of creating a safe and comfortable exterior temperature, facilitating signals to the antennas, and keeping the inside devices cool were presented to the team of Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation. Within a stipulated time, we were to predict and improve the thermal performance of the glasses in a natural convection environment with plastic casing material over the antenna area.

The Aavid Solution

Aavid created a CFD model of the existing device and fine-tuned the model parameters to match thermal testing data that was provided. The top aluminum spreader was modified to enhance radiative and convective heat transfer by increasing its effective surface area. Next the conductive heat transfer throughout the device was optimized to reduce temperature gradients between the hot spots and exterior surfaces. Strategically placed graphite sheets were added to spread the heat while insulating material was used to isolate heat from surfaces that will be in contact with the skin of the user.

To improve the aesthetics of the device, the aluminum spreader was mounted to the PCB suing bosses and numerous locations. The PCB itself was used as a part of the thermal system which enhanced performance. Additionally, the gap between aluminum spreader and critical devices on the PCB were filled using thermal interface material.

The baseline simulation results closely met the prototypes thermal test data. The top aluminum spreader was effective in removing heat from the systems. There was significant improvement to the aesthetics and usability by introducing other conductive and insulating materials such as pourable thermal interface material, graphite, foam, and the PCB itself.

To read more about this revolutionary technology, visit www.osterhoutgroup.com

Get Design Engineering Help