低温空间应用简介

基于空间的通信、传感器和实验的不断发展以及航天器电子设备的日益进步,推动了对在低温微重力环境中实现更严格的热控制和提高散热效率的需求。

NASA的目标是为未来的生命和生物医学航天项目开发可靠的冰箱/冰柜(R/F)模块。为此,他们致力于发现、研制和展示这类高级R/F模块所需的复杂关键冰箱/冰柜技术。

传统的热管理解决方案,如空气或液体冷却,在空间应用中是不可行的选择。相反,Boyd开发了被动式两相冷却解决方案,专门为NASA在航天飞机任务期间测试的低温应用而设计。

图像
STS 40上生命科学空间实验室中的问题冰箱

NASA低温温度控制挑战

NASA正在开发斯特林轨道冰箱/冰柜(SOR/F)实验,以证明可以在轨道项目中实现可靠制冷的技术。用于SOR/F的子系统候选方案将在发现号航天飞机(STS 60)上进行测试。

用于低温温度控制的宝德(Boyd)解决方案

由于太空中几乎没有大气,因此将热量散发到周围空气中并不是有效的热管理解决方案。辐射是太空中最可靠的冷却方法,但是内部组件可能无法接触辐射表面。

Boyd率先开发了低温热管和回路热管,设计用于微重力环境。来自Aavid的工程师已经展示了用于低温热管理的各种热管/流体系统,包括-270°C(3K)下的氦气,-250°C(23K)的氢气,-240°C(33K)的氖气和-220°C(53K)下的氧气。

Boyd,当时被称为Thermacore,建议NASA使用低温热管在SOR / F实验中传输热量。博伊德为NASA设计和制造铜和丙酮热管组件,以便在发现号航天飞机上进行测试。

斯特林轨道冰箱/冰柜的测试结果

在发现号执行STS-60任务期间,丙酮工作流体使热管能够在-30°C(243K)至-60°C(213K)的工作温度下运行。事实证明,SOR/F热管能够在太空的微重力环境中消除高达10 W的功耗。

有疑问?我们随时可以提供帮助!

Cryogenic Heat Pipe Temperature Control for Space Applications

Back to Case Studies

Introduction to Cryogenic Space Applications

The ongoing development of space-based communications, sensors, and experiments, as well as the evolution of spacecraft electronics, are driving demand for tighter thermal control and more efficient heat removal in low temperature microgravity environments.

NASA’s goal was to develop reliable Refrigerator/Freezer (R/F) modules for future Life and Biomedical Sciences spaceflight projects. To do so, they sought to identify, develop, and demonstrate the complicated key Refrigerator/Freezer technologies required for these advanced R/F modules.

Traditional thermal management solutions such as air or liquid cooling are not viable options in space applications. Instead, Aavid, Thermal Division of Boyd Corporation developed passive, two phase cooling solutions specifically designed for cryogenic applications for NASA to test during space shuttle missions.

Launch of Space Shuttle Discovery (STS-60)

The NASA Cryogenic Temperature Control Challenge

NASA was developing the Stirling Orbital Refrigerator/Freezer (SOR/F) experiment to prove out technologies that would enable reliable refrigeration during orbital projects. The subsystem candidates for the SOR/F were to be tested on Space Shuttle Discovery (STS 60).

Problematic Refrigerator in the Spacelab Life Sciences on STS 40
Problematic Refrigerator in the Spacelab Life Sciences on STS 40

Downloads



The Boyd Solution for Cryogenic Temperature Control

As there is little to no atmosphere in space, dissipating heat into ambient air is not an option for effective thermal management solutions. Radiation is the most reliable cooling method in space, but internal components may not have access to radiation surfaces.

Aavid has pioneered the development of cryogenic heat pipes and loop heat pipes designed for use in microgravity environments. Engineers from Aavid have demonstrated a wide range of heat pipe/fluid systems for cryogenic thermal management, including helium at -270°C (3K), hydrogen at -250°C (23K), neon at -240°C (33K) and oxygen at -220°C (53K).

Aavid, Thermal Division of Boyd Corporation, known then as Thermacore, recommended that NASA use cryogenic heat pipes to transport heat on the SOR/F experiment. Aavid designed and fabricated copper and acetone heat pipe assemblies for NASA to test on the Space Shuttle Discovery.



The Results of the Stirling Orbital Refrigerator/Freezer Test

The acetone working fluid enabled the heat pipes to function in operating temperatures between -30°C (243K) and -60°C (213K) during Discovery’s STS-60 mission. The SOR/F heat pipes were proven capable of removing up to 10 W of power in the microgravity environment of space.