智能恒温器案例研究

简介

Allure Energy选择Aavid(宝德(Boyd)公司热工部门)为其设计和制造EverSense家庭能源管理系统,该系统将Allure获得专利的“接近控制技术”与媒体控制和回放功能相结合。



联系我们

 

挑战

距离在拉斯维加斯举办的国际消费电子展(CES)仅剩2个月,产品规格尚未确定,Allure Energy有很大机会在飞思卡尔半导体(Freescale Semiconductor)公司的专用套间内展示其产品。Allure的产品规划涉及同类产品中的最美外观和最佳可用性,兼具功能与简约设计元素。

 

解决方案

Aavid与Allure团队密切配合,迅速完成了第一代设备原型的设计和制造。该设计包括外罩、背面喷漆显示玻璃、扬声器盖和电子装置的安装设备。在CES热情接纳后,Aavid设计部门继而以质量和可用性为重点,着力于开发“生产就绪”设计。采取以下工艺达成最终设计目标:

-完成概念设计,包括热分析和结构分析
-对通过卡扣连接在一起的所有零件进行注塑成型的机械设计
-维持整个产品的优异美观性和可用性
-完成了两轮原型构造,每一轮都在颜色和面漆方面有所变化
-为大规模生产的过程和制造做好控制文档准备
-完成模具设计,并在最终产品装运前进行首件审查

 

可交付成果/结果

在CES的第一天早上,福克斯新闻网对Aavid的原型进行了展播。

独特的对准和卡扣功能确保媒体中心与坞之间的连接可靠而易于使用。固定恰到好处,使得设备能够很好地保持在原位,却又不至于难以连接和移除。

媒体中心和坞通过将有线连接降到最少和仅使用塑料卡扣将零件固定在一起来快速轻松地组装,从而将产品的生产成本降到最低。

坞自身从各个角度看都有独特美丽的外观,而且其功能特征使其可用性优于市场上的其它产品,比如接线塞头的半圆形阵列为连接家庭设备提供足够空间。

由于Aavid设计部门与为Allure Energy生产设备的Aavid工厂团队完全融为一体,所以实现从设计到制造的无缝过渡。

获得工程设计帮助

Smart Thermostat Case Study

Introduction

Allure Energy chose Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, for the design and manufacturing of their EverSense home energy management system that combines Allure’s Patented Proximity Control Technology with media control and playback.



Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Challenge

With only 2 months until the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas and product specifications still fluid Allure Energy had a big opportunity to show their product in Freescale Semiconductor’s private suite.Allure had a product vision that involved best-in-class aesthetics and usability combined with functional and frugal design elements.

 

The Solution

Aavid worked closely with the Allure team to quickly complete the design and fabrication of prototypes of the first generation device. The design included housings, back painted display glass, speaker covers and provisions for mounting electronics.Following the outstanding reception at CES Aavid Design moved towards a pro-duction ready design with a focus on quality and usability. The following process was taken to reach the final design goals:

-Complete conceptual design including thermal and structural analysis
-Mechanical design for injection molding of all parts snapping together
-Maintaining superior aesthetics and usability throughout the product
-Build two rounds of prototypes completed with variations on color and finish
-Prepared control documentation for process and fabrication in mass production
-Completed tooling design, and first article reviews before shipping final product

 

The Deliverables/Results

Aavid’s prototypes were showcased on Fox News on the first morning of CES.

The connection between the media center and the dock is robust and easy to use due to the unique alignment and snap features – the hold is just right that it stays in place well, but it not too difficult to attach and remove.

Both the media center and the dock assemble quickly and easily by minimizing wired connections and employing only plastic snaps to hold parts together minimizing the cost of producing the product.

The dock on its own has a unique and beautiful appearance from all angles, yet its functional features allow better usability than other products in the market such as the simi-circular array of terminal plugs that give ample room for making connections to the home.

The transition from design to manufacturing was seamless due to Aavid Design being fully integrated with the Aavid factory teams that are producing the device for Allure Energy.

Get Design Engineering Help