激光显示器案例分析

项目详情

客户:Prsym Inc.

应用:激光光源

技术:CFD和高
密度压铸

行业:显示技术和可视车间

地点:马萨诸塞州Concord

联系我们

 

设计挑战

一家总部位于加州的公司使用可视化协作云,全球的团队可以在其中进行创建、共享和创新工作。所采用的技术不仅仅是视频会议和网络研讨会。Prysm Inc.将应用程序、内容、视频和网络,整合到一个数据可视化界面中。

Prsym Inc.开始开发一种使用激光光源的新产品。激光光源被安装在底板上,底板又被安装在带有风扇的散热器上。热量从设备流向底板,然后流向散热器,随后被风扇吸走,并最终释放到周围的空气中。散热目标非常苛刻,而几何结构需要一个先进的铸造解决方案。由于物理条件的限制,需要对此设计的散热目标进行调整,宝德(Boyd)公司热工部门Aavid的加州团队利用CFD分析和高密度铸造工艺HDDC,帮助其寻找最佳的热管理方案。

Aavid解决方案

分析从创建一个基线概念的热模拟模型开始,该模型使用了经Prysm Inc.测试的风扇和散热器。这种特定的激光光源阵列将处于诸如强制对流等条件下,并在海拔3000米的高度使用。Aavid的团队设计并优化了散热器,以降低激光器的最高温度。为冷却这些激光光源提供最佳热管理解决方案,不仅有助于设备更好地工作,而且还能延长其使用寿命。进行了多次模拟试验以寻找最佳解决方案。

在华氏104度的条件下,整个底板和周围环境的温度大约下降了43华氏度。为进一步提高热系统性能,Aavid建议将风扇靠近底板,并在两个风扇之间增加隔板。

在Aavid,我们为Prysm的视讯墙提供了最佳的散热器解决方案。

获得工程设计帮助

Laser Display Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Prsym Inc.

Application: Laser Light Sources

Technology: CFD and High
Density Die Casting

Industry: Display Technology & Visual Workplace

Location: Concord, Massachusetts

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Design Challenge

A company headquartered in California uses visual collaboration cloud where teams across the globe can create, share and innovate. The technology used is more than video conferencing and webinars. Prysm Inc. combines apps, content, video and the web into a single interface for data visualization.

Prsym Inc. began developing a new product using laser light sources. The laser sources are mounted on a base plate which is further mounted on a heat sink with fans. Heat flows from the device to the base plate then to the heat sink, gets sucked by the fans and eventually released in ambient air. The thermal target was very tight and the geometry required an advanced casting solution. While the thermal target for this design had to be adjusted due to physical constrains, the California team of Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, was able to assist with finding the best thermal management solution using CFD analysis and high density casting process known as HDDC.

The Aavid Solution

The analysis began by creating a thermal simulation model of a baseline concept which uses the fans and heat sinks tested by Prysm Inc. This particular array of laser sources would be under conditions such as forced convection and used at an altitude of 3000m above sea level. Aavid’s team designed and optimized a heat sink to decrease the maximum temperature on the lasers. Offering the best thermal management solution for cooling these laser sources will not only help to perform better, but the lifetime will be longer. Multiple simulations were ran to find the most optimum solution.

In temperatures of 104 degrees Fahrenheit, the temperature drop across the base plate and ambient was approximately 43 degrees Fahrenheit. To further improve the thermal system performance, Aavid suggested bringing the fans closer to the base, and adding partitions between the two fans.

We at Aavid, helped to provide the best possible solution for a heat sink for Prysm’s video walls.

Get Design Engineering Help