混合动力汽车案例分析

项目详情

客户:Infineon

应用:电动和混合动力汽车

技术:液体冷却

行业:汽车

地点:德国

联系我们

 

设计挑战

过去20年,电动汽车和混合动力汽车的开发和生产持续呈上升趋势,而且这种趋势很可能在今后的20年内呈指数级增长。由于汽车制造商希望采用更清洁、更廉价的能源,并且必须在2020年之前在全球范围内达到CO2排放规定标准,电动汽车和混合动力汽车将会在市场上占据更大份额。

但车辆运行所需的动力,再加上对紧凑、轻便逆变器的设计需求,使热管理成为汽车工程师和制造商的一个重大难题。这些动力模块的热解决方案必须轻便小巧,能足以容身于动力系统中,且作用强大到足以冷却高温部件,同时兼具成本效益而不会提高车辆价格。

为克服这些挑战,Infineon Technologies寻求宝德(Boyd)公司热工部门Aavid的帮助,为其用于混合动力和电动汽车的最新动力模块系列产品HybridPACK™双侧冷却(DSC),开发一套冷却解决方案。这些模块的尺寸和特性,使其设计紧凑的特点在整体应用中更显灵活,并且可在模块的两侧散热。Infineon和我们的欧洲设计中心对一种液体冷却解决方案的概念进行了研究,这个解决方案可提供特定的性能水平。

Aavid解决方案

对此应用的技术要求:三个DSC模块中每个模块耗散的功率、电子连接和集成,以及边界条件。Aavid从DSC模块的特点以及所需的热阻和压降入手,开始对液体冷板(LCP)概念的可行性进行了分析。其基本思路是,将一个LCP放在顶部,将另一个LCP放在底部,以便冷却每个模块的两个有效端面。

其中考虑了各种关键点:整体几何结构、内部冷却器结构、壁厚、进口和出口位置、顶部/底部连接、安装技术和目标成本。几何结构主要受几个机械约束条件限制:DSC模块有效面积的尺寸、模块周围的可用空间,以及与整体系统的集成度。

根据要求的性能水平(热阻和压降)确定了内部结构,关键点是增加了一个经精确优化的紊流器,以增加交换面和对流换热系数,同时保持压降低于设定的极限值。另外还进行了CFD模拟。材料厚度已经过妥善评估,可承受要求的工作和测试压力。对顶部和底部液体冷却板(LCP)之间的连接,以及进口和出口的位置,做了进一步重点分析。在此阶段,顶部和底部之间的连接被认为与LCP本身无关,而顶部和底部之间的连接由软管和卡箍构成(每个LCP均有一个进口和一个出口)。通过这种方式,在顶部和底部LCP之间实现了并行连接,其优点是具有两条相同的并行流,因此在两个LCP上具有相同的性能水平。

最后研究了顶部与底部之间的机械卡紧机制:考虑到在保证最小间隙和蠕变距离的前提下,在有效交换表面之外增加8个固定点。顶部和底部之间的机械连接可通过铆钉或螺钉等快速固定方式来完成。根据此概念制作了一个样机以验证热分析和力学分析,而实验测试结果证实,样机能够承受要求的压力,并且能够保证规定的热阻和压降。最初的样机使用铆钉来固定顶部和底部液体冷却板。

Aavid开发的概念和样机有效供应,使汽车行业能够使采用Infineon的HybridPACK DSC模块, 快速地为混合动力和电动汽车设计出高效逆变器。

获得工程设计帮助

Hybrid Vehicle Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Infineon

Application: Electric and Hybrid Vehicles

Technology: Liquid Cooling

Industry: Automotive

Location: Germany

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Design Challenge

The development and production of electric and hybrid vehicles has been on the rise over the last 2 decades and this trend is likely to increase exponentially over the next 20 years. As automotive manufacturers look to utilize cleaner, cheaper energy and meet CO2 regulations worldwide by 2020, electric and hybrid vehicles will become a much larger part of the market.

However, the power needed to run a vehicle combined with design needs for compact, lightweight inverters has made thermal management an important stumbling-block for automotive engineers and manufacturers. Thermal solutions for these power modules must be lightweight, small enough to fit within the powertrain, powerful enough to cool extremely hot components, and cost efficient enough not to raise the price points on these vehicles.

To overcome these challenges, Infineon Technologies came to Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, for help in developing a cooling solution for their latest power module family, HybridPACK™ Double Sided Cooling (DSC) for hybrid and electric vehicles. Their dimensions and characteristics allow these modules to be more flexible with a compact design of the overall application and can dissipate heat on both sides of the module. Infineon and our European Design Center studied a concept for a liquid cooling solution able to provide the specific performance level.

The Aavid Solution

The specifications for this application: power to be dissipated by each of the three DSC modules, electronic connections and integration, and boundary conditions. Starting from the characteristics of DSC modules and the requested thermal resistance and pressure drop, Aavid began the analysis of possible concepts of Liquid Cold Plates (LCPs); the basic idea was to put one LCP on top and one LCP on the bottom, in order to cool the two active sides of each module.

Different key points have been considered: overall geometry, internal cooler structure, wall thicknesses, inlet and outlet position, top-bottom connection, mounting technique and target cost. The geometry has been defined by the main mechanical constraints: dimensions of the active area of DSC modules, available space around the modules and integration with the overall system.

The internal structure has been defined according to the requested performance level (thermal resistance and pressure drop), and the key was to add an accurately optimized turbulator in order to increase the exchange surface and the convection heat exchange coefficient, while keeping pressure drop under the established limit; CFD simulations have been made. The material thickness has been properly evaluated in order to withstand the requested operating and testing pressure. Further analysis was focused on the connection between top and bottom Liquid Cold Plate (LCP) and the position of inlet and outlet; at this stage, the connection between top and bottom has been considered external to the LCP itself, made by means of flexible tubes and clamps (each LCP has one inlet and one outlet port). In this way, a parallel connection between the top and bottom LCP has been obtained, with the advantage of having two equal parallel flows and consequently the same performance level on the two LCPs.

Finally, the mechanical clamping between top and bottom has been studied: considering the minimum clearance and creepage distances to be guaranteed, eight fixing point have been added, externally to the active exchange surface area. The mechanical connection between top and bottom can be done either with fast features such as rivets or with screws. Prototypes of this concept have been made in order to validate the thermal and mechanical analysis and the results of the experimental tests confirmed that it is suitable to withstand the requested pressure and to guarantee both the indicated thermal resistance and pressure drop. For the first prototypes, rivets have been used to clamp top and bottom Liquid Cold Plates.

The concept developed by Aavid and the availability of prototypes enable the automotive industry to quickly design efficient inverters for hybrid and electric vehicles using Infineon HybridPACK DSC modules.

Get Design Engineering Help