无人机热管理案例分析

项目详情

客户:未披露

应用:Wi-Fi数据传递

技术:流动分析

行业:机器人

地点:加州

联系我们

 

设计挑战

无人机对于全球的大型公司、军队和日常消费者越来越重要。随着技术的进步,这些飞行机器人可发挥越来越多的作用,如搜索和救援任务、安全监控和医疗分析,而在这类情况下,需要在偏远地区接入互联网。无人机在热管理方面也会遇到自己的挑战。当向不发达国家(往往环境比较恶劣)提供互联网服务时需要增加额外设备,因此情况变得更为复杂。

该公司致力于提供这种互联网接入服务,而其开发的无人机内置了各种部件,包括电源阵列、电机和调制解调器。这些部件要在一个附属圆形外壳内散发热量。在其电路板下方有一根天线,天线与一个保护性圆形外壳相连。由于使用环境具有高速、高温和高海拔,因此对产品设计能否成功仍存在一些疑虑。该公司带着这些疑虑找到了宝德(Boyd)公司的热工部门Aavid,希望对其无人机进行热分析和流动分析。

Aavid解决方案

虽然很多部件需要安装电子元件,但这些电子元件在热分析和流动分析中不会产生影响,而只会产生网格问题,并使计算时间大大增加。

仅对整个机身进行流动分析就存在几项重大挑战,如高速和由海拔高度引起的流体性质的变化。此外,还需要运行和评估湍流解算器,以确保CFD分析的成功。

我们在CFD完成后,使用了湍流模型。为使无人机的所有部件都能得到适当冷却,该模型需要一个复杂的网格,这主要是由于机身尺寸和厚度与微型电子元件之间的不平衡比例造成的。为进一步减少网格数量,仅对产生流阻的部件建立了空心块模型。

以这个节点为契机,Aavid能够与该客户合作重新设计无人机,并根据上述分析结果进行调整。在此项目中,流动分析实际上比热分析对设备的评估和重新设计更为重要。流动分析和热分析通常是设计成功与否的关键,而对于在非标准环境中以新的方式使用的所有电子产品(如无人机)均推荐进行这两项分析。

获得工程设计帮助

Drone Thermal Management Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Undisclosed

Application: Wi-Fi Delivery

Technology: Flow Analysis

Industry: Robotics

Location: California

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Design Challenge

Drones are becoming increasingly useful to large corporations, military, and every day consumers across the globe. As technology advances these flying robots are utilized for a number of functions such as search and rescue missions, security surveillance, medical analysis, and in this case, internet access to remote areas. Drones pose their own set of thermal challenges. These are compounded when additional devices are added to supply internet capabilities to underdeveloped countries, often in rugged environments.

The company working to provide this access developed drones with internal components that include an array of power supplies, motors, and modems which dissipate heat inside an attached dome. On the underside of its circuit board an antenna is attached with a protective dome around it. Because the environment would be high in velocity, temperature, and altitude, there was some doubt as to whether that product design would succeed. This doubt caused the company to reach out to the Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, to perform a thermal and flow analysis of the drone.

The Aavid Solution

Although there are many components needed for mounting the electronics, these play no role in thermal and flow analysis and would only create mesh issues and make the computational time much bigger.

There were significant challenges to performing a flow only analysis of the entire fuselage such as high velocity and the change in fluid properties due to altitude. Additionally, turbulence solvers needed to be run and evaluated to ensure the success of the CFD analysis.

Upon completion of the CFD, the turbulence model was applied. In order for all pieces of the drone to be cooled properly, the model required a complex mesh – mostly due to the unbalanced ratio of fuselage size and thickness to the miniscule electronic parts. To further reduce the mesh count, hollow blocks were modeled for the components that contributed only to the flow obstruction.

From this juncture, Aavid was able to work with the customer to redesign the drone to accommodate the finding. On this project, flow analysis was actually more critical to evaluating and redesigning the device than thermal analysis. Both flow and thermal analyses are often crucial to design success and are recommended for any electronics that are being used in new and innovative ways in nonstandard environments, such as these drones.

Get Design Engineering Help