美敦力(Medtronic)射频消融分析案例分析

项目详情

客户:美敦力

应用:疼痛治疗

技术:射频消融模拟分析

行业:医疗设备

地点:加利福尼亚州米尔皮塔斯

联系我们

 

设计挑战

癌转移是造成癌症患者剧烈疼痛的最常见诱因之一。癌症转移后,患者往往出现慢性疼痛或其它相关症状。尽管放射疗法和化学疗法是癌症患者的常规治疗手段,但约有25%的癌症患者不会因此感到疼痛缓解。
该项目是美敦力公司(Medtronic, Inc.)的研发项目。目前针对疼痛性转移疾病有若干治疗方案,其中射频消融是最成熟的治疗方案。射频消融的一个弊端在于它依赖于将热量从消融探针扩散到周围组织。这使得患者必须接受长时间的手术。介入放射科医生希望通过更快的加热速率和更高的温度缩短手术时间,同时保持射频消融所具有的安全特性(消融针端口周围的球形受控加热区)。

挑战在于,使用更高频率的射频波以最大效率将聚焦能量递送到肿瘤内,从而使设备-组织界面处和传输线上的损失降到最低。

Aavid解决方案

在设计新型射频消融设备时采用了多物理场模拟方法。电磁波以高频率穿过生物组织时,在高于40°C的温度下对组织进行加热(加热机制可为低频率下的间接离子加热或高频率下的直接加热)并因此造成细胞死亡。针对若干消融针设计进行了联合电磁-热量传递分析,以使在特定阻抗范围下传递到特定组织的能量最大化。

该系统受温度控制并使用内置水冷式探针以防手术期间周围组织过热。该项目致力于优化消融针几何构型以及上游射频系统,以便将直接接触消融针的组织的过热降至最低。与此同时,还需优化能量递送算法和内部冷却参数,从而最大化离子加热对病灶大小的影响。

采用CMS方法能够使研发工程师以相对较短的时间和更低的成本分析大量设计。原型已由客户完成组装并处于评估/可行性研究阶段。该项目极有可能继续选择若干候选方案(至少一到两个),随后对其进行优化并将最有前景的设计提交给客户进行设计控制过程批准。

宝德(Boyd)的热工部门Aavid帮助模拟和优化RF消融探针设计并且进行联合电磁和计算流体动态分析,验证针对组织模拟材料获得的实验结果。

这项研究在推动癌症患者的疼痛治疗领域取得了振奋人心的进步,Aavid为参与其中而感到自豪。

获得工程设计帮助

Medtronic RF Ablation Analysis Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Medtronic

Application: Pain Therapy

Technology: RF Ablation Simulation Analysis

Industry: Medical Device

Location: Milpitas, CA

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Design Challenge

One of the most common causes for severe pain in patients with cancer comes from cancer metastases. Once the cancer metastasized, the patients often experience chronic pain or other related effects. Even though radiotherapy and chemotherapy is the standard of care for cancer patients, approximately 25% of those patients do not get pain relief.
This project was an R&D project for Medtronic, Inc. There are currently several treatment options for painful metastatic disease with RF ablation being the most mature treatment option. One of the disadvantages of RF ablation is its reliance on conduction to spread the heat from the ablation probe to the surrounding tissue. This requires subjecting the patient to a long procedure. Interventional radiologists want shorter procedure times with quicker heating rates and higher temperatures while maintaining the safety profile that RF ablation has (spherical, controlled heating zone around the applicator port).

The challenge was to use higher frequency RF waves to deliver focused energy into the tumor at the greatest efficiency thus minimizing the losses at the device-tissue interface and on the transmission line.

The Aavid Solution

The approach taken was to use a multiphysics simulation approach in designing the new RF ablation device. As an electromagnetic wave at high frequency travels through a biological tissue the tissue gets heated (the mechanism of heating can be either ionic heating – indirect - at low frequencies or direct heating at high frequency) at a temperature that is above 40°C and therefore causes cell death. A coupled electromagnetic – heat transfer analysis was conducted on several applicator designs in order to maximize the amount of energy delivered in a certain tissue with a specific impedance range.

The system is temperature controlled and uses internally water-cooled probes to prevent overheating of surrounding tissue during the procedure. The project focused on optimizing not only the applicator geometry but also the upstream RF system in order to minimize overheating of the tissue in direct contact with the applicator. At the same time, the energy delivery algorithm as well as the internal cooling parameters had to be optimized in order to maximize the effect of ionic heating on lesion size.

Using a CMS approach enabled the R&D engineers to explore a multitude of designs in a relatively short period of time and reduced cost. Prototypes were already assembled by the customer and are in the evaluation/feasibility process. The project will most likely continue with choosing several candidates that will be then optimized (one or two candidates at a minimum) and the most promising design will be submitted for design control process approval by the client.

Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, helped simulating and optimizing the RF ablation probe design and performed coupled electromagnetic and computational fluid dynamics analysis to validate the experimental results performed on tissue mimic material.

This research is an exciting step in the advancement of pain therapy techniques for cancer patients and Aavid is proud to be part of it.

Get Design Engineering Help