在液体冷却剂中添加乙二醇


快速请求



何时需要在冷却剂中添加乙二醇?

当冷却剂温度设定点低于10°C (48°F)时,Aavid建议配合其循环冷却装置使用30/70乙二醇-水混合液。乙二醇会降低混合液的冰点*(图1)。



在循环冷却装置中,液体冷却剂(通常为水)流经应用设备,去除过多热量,因此液体温度会升高。然后,此冷却剂需要流经蒸发器(一种换热器)将温度降到设定点。请参见“基于压缩机的制冷基础知识 - 应用笔记”,了解制冷系统工作原理的更多信息。

蒸发器是一种换热器。它允许液体冷却剂和系统制冷气体之间的热传导。制冷剂温度必须低于冷却剂液体温度才能实现热量的传导以及让冷却剂温度有效地降到设定点。

制冷剂的温度通常比冷却剂温度低5°C到10°C才能实现热量传导。因此,如果设定点温度低于10°C(48°F),则制冷剂温度可能接近甚至低于水的冰点。如果冷却剂结冰,蒸发器可能出现堵塞,阻止水流通。水结冰会膨胀,可能对蒸发器造成永久损坏。

在您的冷却剂中添加乙二醇,将冷却剂冰点降至-34°C左右,预防结冰对您的冷却装置造成损坏的风险。

乙二醇的导热效果没有纯水好(图2和3)。因此,没有结冰风险时,最好使用100%的水。不过,当设定点低于10°C(48°F)时,存在结冰风险而应在水中添加乙二醇。用略微的性能降低换取更低温度设定点条件下的安全运行,此操作十分必要。



*陶氏化学公司(Dow Chemical Co.)的Dowcal 10是94%的乙二醇。数据由陶氏化学公司提供。


详细了解循环冷却装置选项和液体兼容性,或联系我们的工程团队讨论是否可在您的应用中添加乙二醇。

Adding Glycol into your Liquid Coolant


When is it necessary to add glycol in your coolant?

Aavid recommends using a 30/70 glycol-water mixture with its recirculating chillers whenever the coolant temperature set point is below 10°C (48°F). Glycol lowers the freezing point of the mixture *(Figure 1).



In a recirculating chiller, the liquid coolant (usually water) flows through the application, removing excess heat and in doing so, raising the temperature of the liquid. This coolant then needs to be returned to set point temperature by flowing through a heat exchanger called the evaporator. Please refer to "The Basics of Compressor-Based Refrigeration - Applications Note" for more information on how a refrigeration system works.

The evaporator is a heat exchanger. It allows the transfer of heat between the liquid coolant and the system's refrigerant gas. The refrigerant's temperature must be lower than the temperature of coolant liquid in order for heat to flow and for coolant temperature to be effectively returned to set point.

The temperature of the refrigerant is typically 5°C to 10°C lower than coolant temperature to allow heat to flow. Consequently, if the temperature set point is below 10°C (48°F), the refrigerant's temperature can be close to, or even below the freezing point of water. If the coolant freezes, the evaporator can become obstructed, preventing water flow. Water expands as it freezes and this can cause permanent damage to the evaporator.

Adding glycol to your coolant reduces the freezing point of the coolant to around -34°C, preventing any risk of damage to your chiller caused by freezing.

Glycol does not transfer heat as well as pure water (Fig. 2 & 3). It is therefore preferable to use 100% water where there is no risk of freezing. However, when the set point is below 10°C (48°F) there is a risk of freezing and Glycol should be added to water. The slight decrease in performance is a necessary trade-off to safely allow the lower temperature set point.



*Dowcal 10, by Dow Chemical Co. is 94% Ethylene Glycol. Data courtesy of Dow Chemical Co.


Check more about Recirculating Chiller Options and Fluid Compatibility or contact our engineering team to discuss if adding glycol is right for your specific application.