增强现实案例分析

项目详情

客户:Osterhout Design Group

应用:增强现实

技术:材料和组件

行业:可穿戴设备

地点:美国加州旧金山

联系我们

 

设计挑战

加州的奥斯特豪特设计集团(ODG)为美国的可穿戴技术铺平了道路。最近,ODG开发了世界上最先进的头部磨损计算系统:增强现实智能眼镜。可穿戴设备涉及一系列PCB和电子器件,带有多个天线,最初被密封在塑料外壳中。

对设备进行热测试后发现,接触车身的内部部件和外部表面出现高温问题。ODG最初为CPU设计了一个小型散热器,但其解决散热问题的有效性尚不清楚。

创建安全舒适的外部温度、向天线发出信号以及保持内部设备冷却的挑战被提交给了博伊德公司热部门 Aavid 的团队。在规定时间内,我们用塑料外壳材料在天线区域进行自然对流环境中的玻璃热性能预测和提高。

Aavid解决方案

Aavid 创建了现有设备的 CFD 模型,并微调了模型参数以匹配所提供的热测试数据。对顶部铝扩散器进行了改造,通过增加其有效表面积,增强辐射和对流传热传递。其次,整个器件的导电传热经过优化,可降低热点和外表面之间的温度梯度。战略性地放置石墨片被添加以分散热量,而绝缘材料用于从表面分离热量,这些表面将与用户的皮肤接触。

为了提高器件的美观性,铝扩散器被安装到PCB上,以起诉老板和众多地点。PCB 本身用作热系统的一部分,提高了性能。此外,使用热接口材料填补了PCB上铝扩散器和关键器件之间的间隙。

基线仿真结果与原型热测试数据非常接近。顶部铝扩张器有效地去除系统的热量。通过引入其他导电和绝缘材料,如可浇注热界面材料、石墨、泡沫和PCB本身,其美观性和可用性得到了显著改善。

要了解有关这一革命性技术的更多内容,请访问www.osterhoutgroup.com

获得工程设计帮助

Augmented Reality Case Study

Introduction

Wearable technology is a growing field where the implementation spans from defense to commercial and industrial applications. The compact and lightweight aspects of augmented reality devices can create challenges and design needs for thermal, sealing and protection. The following is based on a customer who required thermal displacement designs on their wearable electronic device.

Challenge

The wearable devices involved an array of PCB and electronics with multiple antennas which were initially sealed into aplastic housing. Thermal testing revealed high temperature issues on the internal components and the exterior surfaces that touch the body. Original designs had a small heat sink for the CPU but its effectiveness in solving thermal issues was unclear.

The challenges of creating a safe and comfortable exterior temperature, facilitating signals to the antennas, and keeping the inside devices cool were presented to the team of Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation. Within a stipulated time, we were to predict and improve the thermal performance of the glasses in a natural convection environment with plastic casing material over the antenna area.

Solution

Aavid created a CFD model of the existing device and fine-tuned the model parameters to match thermal testing data that was provided. The top aluminum spreader was modified to enhance radiative and convective heat transfer by increasing its effective surface area. Next the conductive heat transfer throughout the device was optimized to reduce temperature gradients between the hot spots and exterior surfaces. Strategically placed graphite sheets were added to spread the heat while insulating material was used to isolate heat from surfaces that will be in contact with the skin of the user.

To improve the aesthetics of the device, the aluminum spreader was mounted to the PCB suing bosses and numerous locations. The PCB itself was used as a part of the thermal system which enhanced performance. Additionally, the gap between aluminum spreader and critical devices on the PCB were filled using thermal interface material.

The baseline simulation results closely met the prototypes thermal test data. The top aluminum spreader was effective in removing heat from the systems. There was significant improvement to the aesthetics and usability by introducing other conductive and insulating materials such as pourable thermal interface material, graphite, foam, and the PCB itself.

Have questions? We're ready to help!