可穿戴设备案例分析

项目详情

客户:Instabeat

应用:健身设备

技术:包覆成型电子产品

行业:消费电子产品

地点:黎巴嫩

联系我们

 

设计挑战

为增强心血管健康,运动员设有特定的心率目标,以确保训练效果最大化。可供跑步者和骑行者用来在锻炼期间监测心率的设备有很多,而游泳者却必须停下来测量自身心率或使用笨重的监测器,这些监测器大多穿戴起来不舒服而且极其累赘。

在大学期间,Hind Hobeika发明了一款监测器的原型,它能够安装在游泳护目镜上,在游泳的同时提供实时心率反馈。该设计为她赢得了“科学之星”比赛的第三名。为了将该设备推向市场,她创办了一家名为“Instabeat”的公司,致力于为游泳者提供自我追踪、非介入性体验,从而获得对锻炼效果的完整评估。

然而,在公司团队试图将Hobeika的设计推向市场时,遇到了重大设计挑战。该设备必须具有不透水密封性并能够经受长期暴露于海水、氯和太阳直射。它还必须具备足够的柔韧性以适应任何游泳护目镜,同时又具备足够的刚度以便紧贴游泳者头部,获得良好的心率感测。

为了将Instabeat调试为可在市场上销售的产品,Instabeat聘请了宝德(Boyd)公司热工部门Aavid。

Aavid解决方案

Aavid对Instabea设计进行了改进,使其更加可靠、紧凑,并针对商业生产进行了优化。该原型采用软模制成,将电子装置固定在原位,而硅经手工浇注和铸造。该原型对改进算法和心率测量至关重要,但不具备不透水密封性。这导致必须采用注射成型来改进该设计。然而,注射成型是一种高压、高温工艺,这为该电子装置带来了挑战。Aavid对该工艺进行模拟,以确定组件是否能够承受高压和高温,并决定需要在成型后安装电池。

除了模拟和演算之外,Aavid还提供了以下技术支持:概念建立、详细的机械设计、电气设计、PC板布局、固件设计、心率监测器设计、封装设计和大规模生产。

最终,一款里程碑式的游泳监测器诞生了,它能够安装到日常护目镜上,用于追踪、储存并显示实时的心率反馈,同时具有不透水密封性并且不会妨碍运动员的运动表现。Instabeat即将彻底改变我们游泳的方式。

如需进一步了解Aavid如何为您的机械、电气和工业设计目标提供支持,点此联系他们获取更多信息。



获得工程设计帮助

Wearable Device Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Instabeat

Application: Fitness Device

Technology: Over-molded electronics

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Location: Lebanon

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Design Challenge

To optimize cardiovascular fitness, athletes target a specific heart rate to ensure they are getting the most out of their workouts. Although there are numerous devices for runners and bikers to monitor their heart rate during exercise, swimmers have to stop to measure their heart rate or use cumbersome monitors that are uncomfortable and create significant drag.

As a college student, Hind Hobeika created a prototype of a monitor that fits on swimming goggles to provide real-time heart rate feedback while swimming. Her design won third prize in the Stars of Science competition. In order to commercialize the device, she founded a company called Instabeat – its primary goal being to provide swimmers with a self-tracking, noninvasive experience to obtain a complete assessment of their workout.

However, significant design challenges emerged as the team worked to bring Hobeika’s design to market. The device had to have water-tight seals and last through long-term exposure to sea water, chlorine and direct sunlight. It also required sufficient flexibility to adjust to any swimming goggles, but be rigid enough to hold firm against the swimmers head for good heart rate sensing.

To adapt the Instabeat into a commercially viable product, Instabeat hired Aavid,Thermal division of Boyd Corporation.

The Aavid Solution

Aavid refined the Instabeat design to be more reliable, compact and optimized for commercial manufacture. The prototype was created via a soft tool that held the electronics in place while silicon was hand poured and cast. The prototype was essential to refine the algorithms and heart rate measurement, but it was not water tight. This led to enhancing the design to use injection molding. However, as injection molding is a high-pressure, high-temperature process, this presented several challenges to the electronics. Aavid simulated the process to see whether the components would survive, and it was determined that the battery would need to be installed after molding.

In addition to simulation and algorithms, Aavid produced concepts, detailed mechanical design, electrical design, PC board layout, firmware design, heart rate monitor design, packaging design and mass manufacturing support.

The result: A ground-breaking swimming monitor that mounts onto every day goggles that can track, store, and display instant feedback on heart rate, while remaining water tight and not hindering the athletes’ performance. Instabeat is now poised to revolutionize the way we swim.

For more information on how the Aavid can help you meet your mechanical, electrical and industrial design goals, contact them here.



Get Design Engineering Help