网真案例研究

项目详情

客户:Array Telepresence

应用:视频会议和网真

技术:系统优化和BGA散热器

行业:通讯

位置:美国俄亥俄州

联系我们

 

设计挑战

视频会议正在成为越来越受人们欢迎的沟通方式,并在过去几年来发展迅猛。过去,视频会议的目的仅仅是“目光能及”。而如今,网真面临的挑战是创造“身临其境”的体验。这使工程团队面临严峻的硬件和软件挑战,他们必须在预算内按时交付这种体验。

Array Telepresence最近引入了Equal-i技术,这项技术由获得专利的图像改进算法、相机和图像处理器组成。它们共同以低成本,利用现有的视频会议编解码器提供改善的沉浸式环境。在该公司联系Aavid(宝德(Boyd)公司热工部门)时,他们已经完成了Equal-i 2S图像处理器的工业、电子和机械设计,正处于最终原型测试阶段。这一测试阶段期间,他们发现设备内部的一些关键组件的温度超过了推荐最高工作温度。

因为设备的总体设计已经完成并成熟,所以Array要寻找能够在对现有设计作出最小改动的情况下易于实施的解决方案。最重要的是,他们不希望推迟发货日期。

为了快速高效地解决散热问题,他们找到Aavid进行散热评审和测试。

Aavid解决方案

在与Array初步讨论并理解其设计预算和限制后,Aavid向他们推荐了“热发现”服务作为向前推进的最有效方式。

Aavid首先设计并进行热测试以表征Equal-I 2S内部的温度和空气流。使用十一个热电偶测量关键组件的表面温度以及进出口温度。Aavid与Array密切配合以理解实现最佳解决方案存在的设计和制造自由度。

利用基线测试结果,提出五种对系统作出最小改动的选择以满足散热需求。最佳情况显示,对所有关键组件实现至少20% 的表面温度改善。在几周内即完成对五种情况的评估以符合紧张的日程。根据最新的测试结果修订项目计划以优化热改善。将五个Aavid BGA散热器添加到最热的芯片并添加挡板以对系统气流塑形从而提供最大效果的冷却。

结果:成功。Aavid迅速表征图像处理器并通过提供多种利用现有热管理产品的选择解决散热问题。



获得工程设计帮助

Telepresence Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Array Telepresence

Application: Video Conferencing & Telepresence

Technology: System Optimization & BGA Heatsinks

Industry: Communications

Location: Ohio, USA

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Design Challenge

Video conferencing is becoming an increasingly popular way for people to connect, and has evolved significantly in the past few years. In the past the goal of videoconferencing was merely “seeing there.” Now the challenge of telepresence is to create an experience of “being there.” This causes significant hardware and software challenges for engineering teams who must deliver this experience under budget and on schedule.

Array Telepresence recently introduced the Equal-i Technology that consists of patented image improvement algorithms, cameras, and image processors. These together provide an improved immersive environment at low cost with the use the existing videoconferencing codec. At the time they engaged the services of Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, they had completed the industrial, electrical, and mechanical design of the Equal-i 2S Image Processor, and were in the stage of final prototype testing. During this testing stage they discovered that a few critical components inside the device were exceeding their maximum recommended operating temperatures.

As the overall design of the device was completed and mature Array was looking for solutions that can be easily implemented with minimal changes in existing design. Most importantly, they did not want to delay their ship date.

To resolve the thermal issue quickly and efficiently they approached Aavid for thermal review and testing.

The Aavid Solution

After preliminary discussions with Array and understanding their design targets and constraints, Aavid recommended their Thermal Discovery service as the most efficient way to move forward.

Aavid first set up and performed thermal testing to characterize the temperatures and air flow inside the Equal-I 2S. Eleven thermocouples were used to measure the case temperatures of the critical components and the inlet/outlet temperatures. Aavid also interacted with Array closely to understand what design and manufacturing freedoms existed that would enable the optimal solution.

With the baseline test results, five options with minimal system modifications were proposed to achieve the thermal requirements. The best case showed at least 20% case temperature improvement on all critical components. Evaluation of all five cases was completed within weeks to meet the tight schedule. The project plan was revised based on the latest test results to optimize the thermal improvements. Five Aavid BGA heat sinks were added to the hottest chips and baffles were added to shape the system airflow to provide maximum cooling.

The result: Success. Aavid rapidly characterized the image processor and resolved the thermal issue by offering multiple options that utilized off-the-shelf thermal management products.



Get Design Engineering Help