特温特太阳能车队案例分析

项目详情

客户:特温特太阳能车队

应用:太阳能汽车发动机

技术:钎焊翅片

行业:研究/绿色能源

位置:荷兰特温特

联系我们

 

设计挑战

2015年5月,位于意大利博洛尼亚的宝德(Boyd)公司热工部门Aavid收到了来自备受喜爱的学生赛车队——特温特大学特温特太阳能车队的紧急求助。

他们设计、建造并测试了一款令人惊叹的太阳能汽车,志在驱车穿越澳大利亚沙漠,赢得2015年世界太阳能挑战赛。2012年,Aavid为他们的太阳能控制电子设备研发了一套冷却方案。如今,他们需要彻底减轻车身重量,从而提高太阳能汽车的性能。

时间十分紧迫。为了赶上参赛资格截止期限,我们需要在短短几周内构思、分析、建造、测试并提交原型冷却方案。我们所做的就是与特温特太阳能车队密切合作。

Aavid解决方案

该车队现在采用的方案是由位于意大利博洛尼亚的Aavid在2012年开发出来的。它由焊接在底板上的成型铝翅片构建而成。在为2013年的比赛进行测试期间,该车队发现在运行期间,散热器“冷得出奇”。就0.74公斤(1.6磅)的重量而言,冷却方案明显尺寸过大、过重,对于新近减少的热负荷来说性能过剩。

我们必须重新快速优化设计以实现最小重量,同时维持足够的热性能。分析显示,我们可以显著降低翅片高度和间距。该车队决定继续采用焊接装配工艺,因此以焊接所需的最小值来设定底座和翅片厚度。

通过建模预测出Aavid可将此热管理解决方案的重量减轻50%,达到0.36 kg(0.8磅),同时仍能满足热管理要求。Aavid迅速使翅片成型,采用CNC机床加工底座,将整个结构焊接在一起,对其进行喷砂及表面黑色阳极氧化处理以促进辐射传递。

特温特太阳能车队完成了测试,结果正如Aavid所料——仅以一半的重量就达到了卓越的热性能。预祝特温特太阳能车队在澳大利亚取得好成绩!

想了解这支杰出车队的更多信息,请访问www.solarteam.nl

获得工程设计帮助

Solar Team Twente Case Study

Project Details

Customer: Solar Team Twente

Application: Solar Car Engine

Technology: Brazed Fin

Industry: Research / Green Energy

Location: Twente, Netherlands

Contact Us

 

The Design Challenge

In May of 2015 Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, in Bologna,Italy received an urgent request from our favorite student racing team -Solar Team Twente from the University of Twente.

They had designed, built and tested an amazing solar car with one andonly ambition: win the World Solar Challenge 2015 driving across theAustralian Desert. In 2012 Aavid had developed a cooling solution fortheir solar-powered control electronics. Now they needed a radicalweight reduction to help improve the solar car’s performance.

Timing was short. To make the race qualification deadline, we needed toconceptualize, analyze, build, test and deliver prototype cooling solutionsin just a few weeks. Working closely with Solar Team Twente, that isexactly what we did.

The Aavid Solution

The existing solution used by the team was developed by Aavid inBologna, Italy in 2012. It was constructed from formed aluminum finsbrazed to a baseplate. During the tests for the competition in 2013, theteam observed that in operation the heatsink was “too cold to be true”.At a weight of 0.74 kg (1.6 pounds), the cooling solution was clearlyoversized, overweight and over performing for the latest reduced heatload.

We needed to very quickly re-optimize the design for minimum weightwhile maintaining adequate thermal performance. Analysis showed thatwe could significantly reduce the fin height and pitch. The team decidedto stick with the brazed assembly process, so the base and finthicknesses were set at the minimums required for brazing.

Modeling predicted that Aavid could to reduce the weight of the thermalsolution by 50% reaching 0.36 kg (0.8 pounds) while meeting thethermal requirements. Aavid rapidly formed the fins, used CNC tomachine the base, brazed together the entire structure, sand-blasted it,and applied a black anodize finish to enhance radiated transfer.

Solar Team Twente completed the test and the results were exactly asAavid predicted - great thermal performance at half the weight. Best ofluck to Solar Team Twente in Australia!

For more information on this incredible team visit www.solarteam.nl

Get Design Engineering Help