智能手机散热设计案例研究

简介

2009年末,Palm公司发布了一款当时最小的智能手机Pixi。Pixi由于尺寸较小而存在一些散热问题。Palm向Aavid(宝德(Boyd)热工部门)寻求帮助,希望进行全面散热评估并改善手机的散热性能以便进行下一代发布。Aavid能够提供散热解决方案以改善不同配置下Pixi的表现。

联系我们

 

挑战

Pixi具有2.63英寸触摸屏和QWERTY键盘。连同缆线插入式充电器,Palm Pixi可以使用无线Palm Touchstone充电坞充电。在塑料背衬上有金属面板,保护电池和内部硬件。

根据客户提供的先前的测试数据条件在CFD中对Pixi建模。验证基准模型以匹配测试数据。使手机在室温下以三种不同的取向在自然对流下冷却:与桌面平行、与桌面垂直以及与安置在充电坞上的方向呈7.5度倾斜。当手机安置在充电坞上时,充电坞还产生与手机和电池背部直接接触的额外热量。

Pixi手机的CFD热极限包括:最大组件运行温度、手机接触温度以及电池运行温度。

初始CFD结果显示:
- 手机正面,大部分表面热量位于键盘区域。
- 电池会被主处理器板中的组件加热。
- 当手机安置在充电坞上时,手机背面和电池与其它取向相比略高。

解决方案

根据初始CFD结果,确定垂直取向的温度读数比水平取向略高,但当手机安置在充电坞上时,温度表现最差。因为几乎所有组件都具有热安全性,所以主要将精力集中于努力降低电池运行温度。电池由主PCB、AUX PCB组件和充电坞从背面加热。在电池侧面和底部空腔放置气溶胶隔热材料以帮助隔离电池并降低电池温度。为内盖额外增加金属涂层以促进表面散热并降低表面接触温度。

可交付成果/结果

Aavid提供了一份详细报告,利用CFD模型在不同取向下评估Pixi手机。CFD结果与热测试数据相当。初始CFD结果显示手机表面的局部热区,以及对降低电池温度的需要。通过在电池周围添加气溶胶以及为手机壳的内表面添加金属涂层,整体表面温度和电池温度得以改善。这些重要改善有助于提高手机的整体性能。Aavid(Aavid)所建议的热改进使得Palm公司充满信心地发布下一代Pixi。

获得工程设计帮助

Smartphone Thermal Design Case Study

Introduction

In late 2009, Palm released one of its smallest smartphones at the time called Pixi. Due to its small size the Pixi had several thermal problems. Palm turned to Aavid, Thermal division of Boyd Corporation, for an overall thermal evaluation and improve the thermal performance of the phone for the next generation release. Aavid was able to provide a thermal solution to improve the Pixi performance under different configurations.

Get Design Engineering Help

 

The Challenge

The Pixi has a 2.63-in touchscreen and a QWERTY keyboard. Along with the cable plug-in charger, the Palm Pixi can be charged using a wireless Palm Touchstone charging dock. There is a metal faceplate on the plastic backing that protects the battery and the interior hardware.

The Pixi is to be modeled in CFD based off of previous test data conditions provided by the customer. A baseline model in CFD is validated to match the test data. The phone is to be cooled under natural convection in ambient room temperature under three different orientations: horizontal to the table, vertical to the table, and tilted at 7.5 degree mounted to the charging dock. When the phone is mounted on the charging dock, the dock also provides additional heat that is in direct contact with the back of the phone and the battery.

The CFD thermal limit of the Pixi phone includes: the maximum component operating temperatures, the phone touch temperature, and the battery operating temperature.

Initial CFD result showed that:
- The front side of the phone, majority of the surface heat is on the keyboard area.
- The battery is being heated up from the components in the mainprocessor board.
- When the phone is mounted on the charging dock, the phone back side and battery is slightly higher when compared to other orientations.

The Solution

With the initial CFD result, it was determined that the vertical orientation has slightly higher temperature reading than the horizontal orientation but when the phone is mounted on the charger dock the temperature is the worst. Since most all the components are thermally safe, the main focus is to try to lower the battery operating temperature. The battery is being heated up by the Main PCB, AUX PCB components and the charger dock from the back side. Aerogel insulation is put around the side and bottom cavities of the battery to help isolate the battery and lower the battery temperature. Additional metal coating was added to the inner cover to enhance the heat spread on the surface and reducing the surface touch temperature.

The Deliverables/Results

Aavid provided a detailed report with the CFD model evaluating the Pixi phone under various orientations. The CFD result is comparable with the thermal test data. The initial CFD result shows localized hot regions on the phone surface and the need to reduce the battery temperature. By adding aerogel around the battery and metal coating to the inner surface of the phone cover, the overall surface temperature and battery temperature was improved. These meaningful improvements help to improve the overall performance of the phone. Aavid’s suggested thermal improvements were able to allow Palm to release the next generation of the Pixi with confidence.

Get Design Engineering Help